My boot broke

Say that ten times fast.  Actually I guess it’s not that difficult as a tongue twister.  But it’s an awful thing when it happens in reality.  The zipper on my left boot had been causing a bit of trouble for quite some time.  But we were able to make it work.  Part of me knew it was only a matter of time before it would all fall apart.  But I wanted to make it last as long as I possibly could and to cherish the time we had left, however fleeting.

My brown boots

I’ve had these boots for about four years, so they have had a very good run.  Or a good walk, I suppose would be more appropriate.  I didn’t do a whole lot of running while wearing them, unless you count running for the bus, which I suppose does add up over time.  They’ve lasted longer than expected, longer than any boot before them.  I can’t remember if it’s been four years or five.  I bought them in either 2007 or 2008.  All I know is that they were purchased during my time working at Shoe Warehouse.

Ever since working at Shoe Warehouse, I’ve come to appreciate footwear.  These boots were one of my greatest finds.  I bought them on sale in the clearance section.  But being in clearance does not mean they were low quality.  They are Santanas, which is a Canadian brand that I’d never heard of.  But they are leather and waterproof.  And comfortable.  It’s so hard to find a good boot that is all of those things and looks good as well.

Haven't seen this brand again

This was back when I was against rain boots.  And by rain boots I mean gum boots.  I wanted something more grown up and stylish.  And these were them.  I could always count on them for protection when it rained or when it snowed.  And even if it didn’t rain, they still worked with many outfits.  I had a pair of black boots, but they weren’t waterproof.  And they didn’t last as long.  The zipper broke on those about a year or two ago.  I still miss them.

And now it’s time for me to say goodbye to these brown ones as well. Why? The zipper finally broke. They always do. I really have a love hate relationship with zippers. I love them and they hate me. And that’s just how it is. I’ve lost count of the number of items I’ve had to part with due to broken zippers.

I wasn’t even going to wear these boots today.  I considered normal shoes, but then I heard it would rain.  So then I considered my red rain boots, but then I didn’t think it would rain that much.  Obviously I was wrong.  But I swear the sun was shining a little when I left the house.  And I didn’t want to look stupid wearing rain boots on a sunny day, as I’ve done in the past.  These brown boots have served me well whatever the weather.  Plus, if I happened to walk through mud, you couldn’t tell since they’re brown.

The zipper was bound to break eventually.  But of course it would happen early in the day, on a day like today when I so badly needed them.  And of course it would break while I was at work.  At least the zipper on my black boots had the decency to break before I left the house, allowing me time to change my footwear before venturing outside.  Maybe the brown boots felt that I had taken them for granted, and they wanted to teach me a lesson before they finally kicked the bucket.

I used tape to keep it together

When the zipper came apart, I didn’t have many options.  It’s not as if I had a spare pair of boots with me at the time.  I needed something to fasten it together, or it would just flop down and not stay on properly.  So I used tape.  A lot of tape.  Which worked surprisingly well for a while.  And no one noticed unless I pointed it out to them.  Why would I point it out?  I don’t know, as a conversation starter?  Because I wanted someone to acknowledge the misfortune I was going through?  Because I just felt like it?

I used scotch tape while at work and then packing tape when I left.  Somehow I feel like the scotch tape worked better.  I’m pretty sure on my way home people noticed the tape that was hanging on for dear life in desperate attempt to do what a zipper once did.  It was clear tape, but still.  At least I made it home.  But it saddens me to know that I will never wear them again.  I’ll never find that kind of quality at that good a price again.  I curse that zipper for ending our time together before I was ready.

My boot is dead

5 thoughts on “My boot broke

  1. Pingback: I got a pedicure | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: These boots are made for walking | Random and unnewsworthy

  3. Pingback: Farewell red rain boots, you’ve served me well, but now it’s time for you to die | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

