I want a convertible dress

I love outfits that are convertible.  Versatility and convertibility are amazing qualities for a garment to have.  I remember when I watched Fashion Star, one of my favourite pieces was the convertible skirt that Orly made.  The model walked down the runway, and then undid the zipper around the waist to remove the top part of the skirt, creating a whole different look.  Unfortunately that was the first thing she made, and everything she made thereafter just wasn’t as good.  But the skirt was awesome.

I remember watching an episode of Dragons’ Den where this woman had created a convertible dress.  It was a while ago, so I don’t remember exactly what the styles looked like, but I remember that I thought it was a brilliant idea.  To be able to buy one dress and wear it multiple ways to achieve multiple different looks, who wouldn’t want one of those?

There is also a company called Wrap Magic Skirts which does the same thing.  They have various skirts and dresses which can be worn over 100 different ways.  Their newest creation is the convertible dress, which is the same idea as what I saw on Dragons’ Den, except it’s a different company.  The convertible dress looks amazing.  The website has videos which demonstrate the various ways you can change the look.  They retail for $250.

But as luck would have it, there’s an online deal.  Two actually, one on SwarmJam and one on Deal Getters.  The deal lets you order one for $49.  Taxes and shipping are not included though.  But it’s still a significant reduction from the full retail price.  I am so tempted to buy one.  I can justify it by saying that I’m not paying a lot for just one dress, I’m paying a lot essentially to get multiple dresses.  And a skirt.  Yes, it can also be transformed to be worn as a skirt.

But I’m still debating as to whether I should get it.  I mean I don’t really have an event or occasion that I need it for.  I never really NEED these things.  But I’m sure I’d make good use of it somehow.  Chances are I’d probably find one way of wearing it that I like the most and then constantly wear it that way, defeating the purpose of its versatility.  Or even more likely, I would screw it up somehow, trying desperately to follow the steps from the video but ultimately being unable to achieve the desired look.  Then maybe I’d end up just wearing it as a skirt, unable to figure out the dress styles.  Because I tend to fail at fashion.  But it’s worth a try, right?

 

My main problem is I’m indecisive.  If I do in fact buy one, I have no idea which colour to get.  How do I decide?  If they had a convertible dress that also changes colour, now that would really be something.  That would be the ultimate in versatility.  But alas, there is no such thing.  It would make sense to get black, since a little black dress is an essential part of any wardrobe.  But I think I should get something colourful.  I think I look good in purple.  But I have a couple purple dresses already.  Though none like this.  The blue is really nice too.  Maybe the blue?  But what about the red?  Or the other shade of blue?  Or the green even?  I want them all!

Also, there are two different styles of the dress you can choose from to order.  The first one is really nice, but a lot of the styles are backless, which poses the problem of finding the right bra.  So perhaps the second style would be better.  But I like them both.  Chances are, by the time I make up my mind as to whether to buy it and which one to buy, the deal will have expired or sold out.  And then I will be left with non-buyer’s remorse, which is really an awful feeling.  Because I’m only going to buy one with the deal.  I can’t afford a $250 dress.

What do you think?  Should I get one?  And if so, which colour?

9 thoughts on “I want a convertible dress

Leave a comment