Confessions of a gym enthusiast

Okay, well I can’t really call myself a gym enthusiast.  I’ve been to the gym a total of 5 times.  I’m not talking about this month.  I’m not even talking about this year.  Well, yes, actually, I have been to the gym 5 times this year.  But that’s also the amount of times I’ve been to the gym ever, in my life.  If you asked me a year ago if I wanted to go work out, i would have laughed in your face or assumed that you were obviously joking.  I considered myself to be probably the least athletic person in the world.  I can’t run to save my life.  The last time I actually “ran” would be gym class in Grade 10.  And I hated it with a passion.

So why, you ask, do I now have this sudden interest in frequenting the gym?  Well I guess it sort of started about a month ago, when I was sitting at Red Robin with my friend, eating my free birthday burger.  It was a Mediterranean lamb burger and it was amazing.  Red Robin burgers also come with “endless” fries.  My friend ordered a salad and informed me she was on a diet, at which point I felt bad for making her come there with me.  I feel like I ruined her diet, because we ended up having 3 whole plates of those “endless” fries.  After overeating and feeling full, she mentioned that she was going to be going to the gym regularly.  Since I had recently been stress eating more than usual, I said I wanted to come with her.

My first time at the gym, I was scared.  Not so much of the physical activity, but more feeling inadequate and judged by those around me, because I’m socially awkward like that.  We went to South Arm Community Centre, and my friend told me exactly what to do.  She took to the role of a trainer pretty well.  She set up the time on the elliptical machine for me and then said “Okay, don’t stop until it’s been 20 minutes”.  Four minutes in, I was already tired.  When I told her I might stop before 20 minutes she said “No, then it won’t work properly”.  So I decided to suck it up.  I was so relieved as I counted down the last minute, but to my horror, once that was over, it went to a 5 minute cool down.

The elliptical machine was the least of my worries.  I stupidly followed my friend when she went to the weight room.  Big mistake.  She told me which machine to use.  I could barely do it.  I have zero upper body strength.  But I tried anyway.  No one told me that stretching was an essential part of working out.  And so I neglected to do it.  Long story short, my arms were sore for a full week.  I haven’t used a weight machine since.  Cardio is all that my body can take.

I am now the proud owner of a 10 visit punch card for Kerrisdale Community Centre.  I have to go 6 more times in order to get my money’s worth.  6 more times and then never again.  At least not to that gym, cause it kind of sucks.  The machines are old and they stick and some are often out of order.  But I was not aware of this when I purchased the punch card.  Once this is over, I will either find a new gym, or give up on the idea entirely.  But with the amount of stress eating I’ve been doing, I think I’ll have to stick with the gym for a little while longer.

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a gym enthusiast

  1. Pingback: I’m glad I missed the bus | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: How I spend my Tuesdays | Random and unnewsworthy

  3. Pingback: What shoes should I wear tomorrow? | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

