My blog title

I spent about two years contemplating whether I should start a blog.  I took a career counselling course last year and when I mentioned that I’ve always wanted to be a writer, the instructor asked me if I’d considered blogging.  I said I’d thought about it but was never able to come up with a good title.  He strongly suggested I start a blog so that I could continue with my writing.  I very nearly took the advice, but the title just would not come.  And so it took a year and a half later for me to finally get this thing started.

Things also got to the point where I began to update my facebook status an obnoxious amount of times everyday.  I remember back when it would only be a couple times a week.  Then it became every couple days.  Then daily.  And now it’s several times a day.  I can’t help it, I have a lot of thoughts which are just dying to be expressed whether people want to hear them or not.  I don’t update my facebook status because I want to, I update my facebook status because I have to.  A fair amount of people told me in person that they liked my updates and so I allowed them to continue.  But I guess at some point I felt limited by one or two sentences at a time.  I felt I needed something more.

But the damn title.  I was never good at those.  I was never good at beginnings or endings.  I’m good at filling in the in between.  Like I could never manage to put together a coherent story, but I always had a hell of a lot of good ideas that could be randomly dispersed throughout.  I wanted to be a screenwriter, but instead of writing the whole screenplay, be a line writer.  Be in charge of providing random witty lines here and there that would make the story that much better.  But sadly I don’t think such a job exists.

I wanted to just called this thing “Dominique’s blog”.  But for some reason my friend told me I couldn’t do that.  She didn’t explain why, she just didn’t approve.  I also thought of “Too lazy to think of a title”.  Or “Blog without a title”.  Or “Stuff”.  Or “My thoughts”.  Yeah, you can see how much I suck at this.

So where did my title come from?  Well, despite the fact that many people like my facebook statuses, there are always those that are highly critical.  One of my friends one day pointed out that I update my facebook status a lot.  He joked that he would block them from his newsfeed because there were just too many.  I remember I had a status that was something like “They no longer had the bacon cheeseburger deluxe at Mcdonalds so I had to settle for a mcdouble, which wasn’t nearly as satisfying”.  Yes, I will admit that was definitely not one of my better updates.  But yes.  Upon reading that he asked if I thought that was really newsworthy.

The stuff I tend to post is also pretty random.  And not just on facebook.  I send random texts to people all the time, just things that I think are funny or that they will appreciate.  Random thoughts are constantly going through my head and some of them I feel the need to share.  But not everyone appreciates my humour.  But that’s okay.  Enough people do that I can justify it.  A problem I had is that I have no specific category.  Some people blog about food, or travel, or movies.  Mine really are just completely random.  Anything goes.  I am not confined to any one topic.  I love being random.

And so I realized that most of what I write is both random and unnewsworthy.  Some people like it, some people don’t.  And that’s fine.  To each their own.  The things I talk about really aren’t newsworthy, they are not essential, no one really needs to be informed about my thoughts.  I am simply here to provide entertainment to those who happen to be interested in what I have to say.  I’m glad I finally found myself a blog title.  The hard part is over.  Now I just need to come up with a title for each new post I write.  Damnit.

5 thoughts on “My blog title

  1. Pingback: I’m not cool | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: A below average blog post | Random and unnewsworthy

  3. Pingback: Random and unnewsworthy

  4. Pingback: I don’t feel like blogging | Random and unnewsworthy

  5. Pingback: Happy blogoversary to me! | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

