Last Friday Night

No, we didn’t dance on table tops or take too many shots. We didn’t drink at all actually. It was just one of those girls night out type of things where we didn’t really have much of a plan as such. Well we sort of did, but it sort of fell through.  So we made it up as we went along, which turned out to be a whole lot better.  Given that last week was short in terms of work, we were still exhausted by the end of it.  Don’t get me wrong, four day work weeks are great, I wish I could do them all the time.  But somehow it was still stressful.

We had planned to watch a movie on Friday.  We decided on “What’s Your Number?” even though we heard it got bad reviews.  But hey, typical story line, hot guys, minimal thinking involved.  So why not?  The thing about movie times is that they’re always a major inconvenience.  They’re either too early or too late.  Never a nice, normal, in between time.  The movie was supposed to be playing at 7:25pm.  So we needed a quick dinner.  This turned out to be a good thing, as it allowed me to try Japadog for the first time.  I liked it.

When we got to the theatre to purchase our tickets, the movie was not listed.  I began to think I was crazy but I had sworn I read that it was playing there.  Using my blackberry, I checked the website, and the movie was conveniently no longer listed.  But I swear it was listed the night before.  My friend confirmed this.  I think Scotiabank and tribute.ca are just conspiring against me to make me think I’m crazy when I’m really not.  But yeah.  There were other movies, but not ones we all wanted to watch at that very moment.  So we decided to hell with movies, we’ll go do something else.

My friend suggested True Confections.  It was a bit of a walk from the theatre, but it was worth it.  On the way, we passed a huge skunk.  I am terrified of skunks.  Never been sprayed and I hope to keep it that way.  I ran across the street in the opposite direction to get the hell away from it.  When it’s dark, they seem to appear out of nowhere.  You never know when or where they may be lurking.

So yes, True Confections.  Since we didn’t indulge in drink that night, instead we indulged in food.  There were four of us and we each ordered cake.  Well, I ordered pie, cause I like to be different.  My friend and I shared pecan pie and lemon heaven cake, while my other friends shared pumpkin cheesecake and tiramisu.  Since we ordered things to share in that manner, my friend remarked that it probably looked like we were on a lesbian double date.  She said this rather loudly, so I wouldn’t be surprised if some people actually thought that we were.

The rest of the night was filled with a bunch of random and hilarious comments and inside jokes, that when heard partially or out of context, would likely be taken the wrong way.  I can’t repeat them here, you wouldn’t get it, they’re inside jokes.  All I know is I haven’t laughed that hard in a really long time.  As I mentioned, we didn’t drink.  We didn’t need to.  I’m pretty sure people at the place thought that we were crazy or on something or maybe both?  We did get a few weird looks.  Well, maybe more than a few.  But we didn’t care.  We had our cake and we ate it too.  We had good food and good company and that’s all that mattered.

So did we go out and party after we left?  No, we went to my friend’s place and watched food network and Criminal Minds.  Neither were my first choice, but that’s okay.  It’s hard for me to watch food network without getting hungry.  Okay, impossible.  Even though we’d just had desserts.  And I can’t watch Criminal Minds without thinking of Dharma & Greg.  And then I just think “Why are you so angry Greg?  Don’t be angry.” (I’m not actually sure what his name is on the show).

On my way home that night, there were of course drunk people around.  Also, teenagers smoking at the bus stop, thinking they looked cool.  The trip home, always eventful.  But I was very content with my night and my desserts.  I didn’t have to worry about a hangover the next morning or not being able to remember things.  All I had to worry about was how am I going to work off all this cake and pie I just ate?

One thought on “Last Friday Night

  1. Pingback: My dream job | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

