My Christmas Letter

There are some people who, every Christmas, send out letters to family and friends wishing them happy holidays and outlining what they themselves have been up to throughout the year.  These are written generically, to no one in particular, and sent out to whoever is important enough in their address book.  I have never done this, nor do I ever plan to.  When I write Christmas letters, or any letters for that matter, they are personal and unique.  Each and every letter from me is one of a kind.  And I think that’s the way it should be.

I have a problem with generic Christmas letters because they’re just so impersonal.  If you really care that much about the people you are sending them to, you would take the time to wish them well and update them on your life individually, not as part of a mass produced note that everyone and their dog is also receiving.  Also, some of the things written in these letters about their lives, don’t really need to be included.  Do we really care about the school play that your kid had a minor but important role in?  Or that you’ve recently joined a  a new book club and are loving it so far?

But, in the spirit of Christmas and tradition, I will take this madness one step further.  Rather than wasting paper and postage to send out my useless thoughts to a selection of people I care about, I will wish everyone who chooses to read it, in this very blog.  So here we go…

Dear family and friends and random people I don’t know,

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all a Merry Christmas!  All the best to you and yours during this joyous season.  Where has 2011 gone?  It seems as though it all went by so quickly, don’t you think?  I don’t know about you, but I still managed to accomplish a lot.

As you may know, I finally graduated in May with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology from UBC.  And where has that taken me?  Well, apparently I loved the university so much, I decided to stay there as an employee at the bookstore.  Something I didn’t actually need a degree to do.  But nevertheless, that’s what I’ve been doing since graduating.

I also started a blog, as you can see.  Why?  No reason really.  I just have a lot of thoughts racing through my head and this is one outlet of expressing them.  I also recently diagnosed myself as having what I like to call ADHD of the mind.  I’m not crazy and hyperactive on the outside, but you should see what goes on inside my head.  It’s not as calm up in there.  Hence, the blogging and the randomness in order to let it all out.  I’ve heard some people make money through blogging, but I’ve never bothered to look into that.    I suppose I really should, since I could use the money.  But oh well.

Something else I’ve been meaning to do is move out of the house.  No, I haven’t done that yet.  And no, I haven’t started looking for a place yet.  And no, I haven’t decided when exactly I would like to move out.  But it’s the thought that counts, right?  And I’ve thought about it a lot.  So that’s something, right?  I just wish the price of living in Vancouver wasn’t so high.

I have also continued my combination of hatred and dependence for translink.  Why do I hate them?  Well, quite frankly, they suck.  Why do I depend on them?  Well, quite frankly, I  suck.  Why do I suck?  Because I don’t drive.  But I also can’t afford a car.  Instead of saving up money for one, I would rather spend it on shoes.  They get me where I need to go as well, it just takes longer.

What else have I accomplished this year?  I haven’t taken up any new hobbies or anything exciting like that.  Unless you count blogging?  Does updating my facebook status count?  I do a lot of that.  And that’s an understatement.  2011 was a good year for status updates.  I’ve also been more active on twitter as well.  That’s something to be proud of I’m sure.  I also started watching some new tv shows, some good, some bad, some so-so.

Oh, I also started going to gym.  Sort of.  It’s been a while, I haven’t gone that often, but I’ll try again next year?  And I did the grouse grind for the first time.  And I got a massage for the first time.  And I started doing a lot of online shopping.  It’s been a good year for firsts.  This also happens to be the first generic Christmas letter I’m sending out.  While not really sending out as such, but whatever.

So yes, that’s what I’ve been doing this year.  A successful year, no?  I thought so.  And what made it that much better was having all of you as a part of my life throughout it.  So thank you, for allowing me to share this wonderful year with you.  I do hope that the coming year will be filled with as much excitement for you and for me.  You are in my thoughts and prayers always.  Best wishes for the future!

With much love,

Dominique

3 thoughts on “My Christmas Letter

  1. Pingback: Happy Easter | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: Mrs. Claus is so lucky | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

