Love Actually

If you haven’t seen the movie Love Actually before, do not read this, as there may be spoilers.  Though it seems like I was one of the only people on the planet who hadn’t seen the movie.  But now I can say that I have.  And was it the greatest Christmas movie of all time?  No, not really.

I recently angered a few people with my facebook update which stated that I had watched this movie for the first time and that I did not understand why everyone loved it so much.  Don’t get me wrong, I liked the movie.  Enjoyed it even.  But it just wasn’t all that people had hyped it up to be.  Maybe if I had watched it years ago when it first came out, I would have been in as much awe as everyone else.  But I didn’t.

Some of the story lines in the movie I just wasn’t happy with.  My friends were yelling at Laura Linney’s character, and rightly so.  You’ve been in love with a hot guy for over 2 years and you finally have him in your room and you answer your phone?  Why?  Sure, your brother’s not well, but it isn’t an urgent matter of life and death at the moment.  And how did that story line end?  There was no closure.  Was that it?  She just continues being in love with him after having failed at being with him and that’s that?  Not cool.

A story line that people apparently found really cute was the one with the little boy.  Really? I’m sorry, that bothers me too much.  You’re 11 years old, your mom just died, and you’re depressed because you’re in love?  Really?  You’re more upset about the agony of being in love than about losing your mother?  Every time he talked about love I was just like “but you’re 11!”.  Also, this movie was post 9/11.  So where the hell was the increased airport security?  And how come an 11 year old boy was able to outrun a bunch of cops?  I’m sorry, no.

And Hugh Grant as the prime minister.  Yeah, I really can’t buy that.  I mean sure his character was fine, but I couldn’t take him seriously as a politician.  And why would you applaud him at the school play?  Oh look, the prime minister is randomly making out with some chick backstage at my kid’s Christmas concert, let’s clap for him!  Is that really the appropriate response?

I have to say that the most realistic story line was the one with Alan Rickman & Emma Thompson.  I could see that happening.  Except why be an idiot and shop for a necklace while your wife is also in the store?  And I was curious as to what exactly happened in the end.  Were they divorced?  Did they stay together?  It was unclear the way it was depicted.  But I guess that was done on purpose.  I would have also liked to know what happened to his secretary.  Nothing I suppose?  Did she get with him?  Did she find love elsewhere?  Who knows?

I’m sad to say that the second most realistic story line was probably the one where the guy decides to go to America because girls will love him there for his accent.  And they do.  I mean it’s shameful to say that girls are actually that shallow, but it’s true that a British accent somehow does wonders.  The way things played out for him was definitely exaggerated, but the general idea was somewhat true to life.

I won’t go into all the other story lines, as that would just be overkill.  I do already feel as though I’ve overanalyzed this movie so I will stop.  Obviously all movies will have story lines that you don’t particularly like or agree with.  All in all, it was a good film, just not the best.  Maybe next Christmas I will try watching it again, perhaps with a bottle of wine or some eggnog.  Maybe then I will love it as much as everyone else.

2 thoughts on “Love Actually

  1. Pingback: Stay tuned | What are we watching?

Leave a Reply

