There’s no point

I feel like maybe I shouldn’t be blogging today.  Maybe I should be joining Wikipedia and taking a stand against SOPA.  But if I were to blog or not to blog, who would really notice?  I do not have nearly enough impact.  There wouldn’t be any worldwide panic if I were to shut down my blog for a day.  Or any period of time for that matter.  That being the case, I may as well just blog today.  Instead of shutting down my blog for the day, I will just make this a useless post that no one will read anyway (I know, that could be a description for pretty much everything I write).

So I’m actually going to attempt to write about nothing right now.  I mean I’ve already mastered the art of writing about things that are unimportant, mundane, random, and trivial.  I think I’ve got that covered.  So how do I top that?  I’m not sure that I can.  But I’m willing to try.  Underachievement doesn’t always come naturally.  Sometimes it requires a little effort.

Many writers aspire to write about great and important things that matter and that people care about passionately.  But everyone wants to do that.  Everyone wants to be great.  But sadly, not everyone can be great.  I’ve always taken issue with motivational speakers who aim to encourage and inspire people to live the lives they’ve always dreamed of and that they can and will achieve success.  In some cases, people will live out their dreams.  But more often than not, they will fail.  Not everyone can be successful.  If everyone was successful, the word would lose its meaning.

I think that I would make a good unmotivational speaker.  To bring people back down to reality.  And form more realistic goals.  There’s a saying “Reach for the moon, even if you fail, you’ll land among the stars”.  You do know that a star is basically a burning mass of gas, right?  Why on earth would you want to land among that?  Well I guess you wouldn’t be on earth if you were landing there, but still.

Instead of aspiring to be great, maybe I should just focus on mediocrity for now.  Because it works.  It’s less stressful.  I think I often live by the phrase “Do as I say and not as I do”.  Because I sometimes do try hard at things and attempt success, but here I am saying that I ought not to.  I’m also indecisive, so I suppose I haven’t quite decided which path I should follow.  I tend to go one way or the other at any given time.  I’m either super busy, or incredibly lazy.  There is no in between.

What am I talking about right now?  I don’t even know anymore.  But that was my aim, wasn’t it?  To blog about nothing.  Well I suppose it’s impossible to blog about nothing, without actually just refraining from blogging in the first place.  So I guess I have blogged about something.  But something so meaningless that I don’t even know what it is.  This is kind of a fail of a blog post.  But since I had intended for this post to be useless, it would look as though it’s actually a success.

One thought on “There’s no point

  1. Pingback: A below average blog post | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

