I like it dirty

Again, I’m talking about my hair.  It’s been almost 4 days since I last washed it.  I know that some people will find this completely gross and unheard of, while to others it’s no big deal. My excuse is that I really want to make sure that the keratin treatment I got completely sets in before I wash it.  I was told to wait 48 hours before washing it.  But then I read somewhere that you’re supposed to wait 72 hours.  And then I read somewhere else that you’re supposed to wait 4 days.  So I thought, better safe than sorry.

I read a few accounts from other people who had keratin smoothing treatment done on their hair and some of them stated how they felt like a grease ball having not washed their hair for a couple days.  And because before you wash it, the hair can be rather flat and limp, and in some cases, appear greasy.  I don’t feel this way at all.  I love my straight hair, even if it’s really flat looking at the moment.  So what if it may even look lifeless, it beats the alternative of being massively frizzy.  I will take greasy hair over that any day.

Whenever my hair is straight, I like to put off washing it for as long as possible.  Because I want to hold onto that and cherish it while I still can.  My hair straightener cannot achieve the look that professional salon flat irons can.  Especially if I’m the one using it.  It just won’t happen.  The combination of the flawed straightener and my flawed skills is nothing to be proud of.  I may as well just not attempt it at all.

I remember one time in high school, I got my hair done for grad and she straightened it at the salon.  I waited several days before washing it, because I knew I would never achieve that look again, as I did not own a flat iron at the time, not even a crappy one.  I remember people trying to convince me that I should wash it and that it was gross that I hadn’t.  I t’s not like I waited that long.  Maybe it was 4 days?  5 maybe?  Less than a week I’m sure.  But I caved and washed it and then I was unhappy.  I think the day that I washed it I fell down a few stairs and failed a test and felt ugly.  And I blamed it all on the fact that I had washed my hair.

I’m still wondering how my hair will turn out once I do wash it.  I will have to blow dry it and attempt to straighten it, despite working with a below average straightening tool.  This will be quite a stretch, considering that lately my hair regime has consisted of washing it, tying it back wet, letting it air dry, then putting it down and hoping for the best.  I don’t suppose doing that would be conducive to achieving the results I would like with my newly straight hair.

Despite what some people think, dirty hair is better.  It’s easier to style, and I’ve been told this by a hairdresser, so it’s not just me.  And washing your hair too often can cause it to dry out and if it’s colour treated, the colour will fade out faster.  Same with smoothing and straightening treatments.  I remember seeing a commercial for some shampoo and the voice over said “Going out tonight, with hair you washed this morning?”, as if that was a gross and unheard of thing to do.  I do it all the time.  In fact I go out with hair I washed the morning before, or even two mornings ago.  It’s not a big deal.

Perhaps I will wash my hair tonight.  I don’t have time in the morning.  I mean I have time to wash it, but my time ends there.  Blow drying and styling are out of the question.  And I really need to get myself a better hair dryer.  The one I own is about as crappy as my straightener.  It takes forever for my hair to dry and I’m pretty sure it’s causing damage to it as well.  I should get one of those ionic ceramic ones, I hear those are better?  But I really have no idea.

I thought about going out today to buy myself a new hair dryer.  But it’s raining.  And I don’t want to get my hair wet.  Yeah, it’s quite a dilemma.  I could always wait until tomorrow.  One more day couldn’t hurt, right?  Or is that pushing it?  I imagine a lot of you are disgusted right now.  But often when my hair is dirty, no one can tell (unless I decide to broadcast it on my blog).  In fact I think the times when it looks best and gets me compliments is when it’s at it’s dirtiest.  So I’m not the only one who likes it dirty.

2 thoughts on “I like it dirty

  1. Pingback: To wash or not to wash? | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: With great hair comes great responsibility | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

