How I spend my Tuesdays

Today I experienced a bit of deja vu as I was nearing the end of my day.  I seem to have my Tuesday routine down: work, volunteer, miss the bus, Fresh Slice, London Drugs.  In that order.  Except that the Fresh Slice and London Drugs are interchangeable as to the times they occur in that sequence (side note: every time I try to type “Fresh Slice”, I always end up typing “Fresh Slive” instead.  What the hell?  I don’t seem to mess up the “c” and the “v” keys when typing any other words.  I don’t know what the problem is here).

And by routine, I of course mean two Tuesdays in a row.  Crazy, I know.  Maybe the fact that I’ve blogged about it twice makes it seem as though it’s happened more often.  I should actually add to the end of that sequence: come home, eat, watch tv, blog, herbal tea, attempt to sleep, sleep.  Except eat is often repeated after TV, and sometimes after blog.  And sometimes simultaneously occurs along with TV and herbal tea.

Last Tuesday, before I missed the bus, I ran for said bus, knowing all too well that it would not be there when I reached the stop.  Today was similar.  I looked out the window of the Canada Line and saw the 401 sitting there.  I forced the person beside me to get up sooner than he would have liked, so I could assume my position as close to the doors as possible when we pulled to the station.  But instead of running, I fast walked.  Made like I was in a hurry, but not too much of a hurry.  Because I knew that I would miss it, and didn’t want to look like an idiot again when it happened.  But a small part of me hoped that maybe, just maybe, it would stay, and that part of me made me move just a wee bit quicker.

And I noticed other people rushing as well (Oh wait, I lied.  When I tried to type “noticed” I ended up typing “notived”.  Guess I do have a general problem with the “c” and “v” keys after all).  I figured the other people must be trying to catch the bus as well, and if they do indeed make it, they can hold it for me.  But alas, they did not make it either.  Or maybe they weren’t actually running for it.  Maybe they just felt the urge to exercise spontaneously?  Either way, I missed the bus again.  But the fact that I didn’t run this time made it less disappointing.

And of course it also allowed me to make stops at both Fresh Slice (I spelled it right on the first try that time!) and London Drugs.  I was again worried I might miss the next bus while shopping, so I hurried myself to get what I needed, bought my shampoo, and walked back to the bus stop.  Yes, I know I just bought shampoo at London Drugs last Tuesday, so why did I need to buy more.  No, this was not another soap incident.  I will explain in a later post why I felt the need to buy more.

I think this Tuesday tradition that I’ve set up for myself may end here.  Even though it’s only just begun.  My work and volunteer schedules may change.  Which will in turn affect my Fresh Slice and London Drugs frequenting.  Sad, I know.  But maybe it’s for the best.  Maybe I can begin a new routine.  One where I don’t miss the bus, perhaps?  I can dare to dream.

5 thoughts on “How I spend my Tuesdays

  1. I have that problem with different words than slice. I think it is probably the first few times you tried to write slice you put slive and then stupid muscle memory kicked in and now you always want to do that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

