My phone fell in the toilet

My blackberry is currently on life support. I'm hoping it will pull through.

Yeah.  It finally happened.  Not that I was expecting it to happen.  At all.  It never even crossed my mind that such a thing would happen.  But it did.  And of course it would happen to me.  And I feel lost and hopeless without it and worried about what will happen next.

Everyone who knows me knows that I hate my phone.  But that I also depend on it and rely on it and may even love it sometimes.  It’s probably a very unhealthy relationship.  But that’s the way it is.  But I never wanted this to happen.  This can’t be how it ends.  That would be just be too devastating.

I made the unfortunate mistake of putting my blackberry in my sweater pocket.  My tiny sweater pocket, in which it barely fit, and part of it was left peaking out.  It should never have been in there.  It was in the wrong place at the wrong time.  It should have been in my bag at that moment, safe and sound.  And most importantly, dry.

When I heard it fall in I thought oh, crap!  No, not literally.  I suppose crap is a very unfortunate word choice given the circumstances.  But yeah.  I panicked.  I immediately took it out and then I didn’t know what to do.  I dried it off with paper towel and then just stared at it in despair.

I was told to remove the battery and then put it in rice for 3 days.  3 days?  I can’t go without my phone for 3 days!  That’s madness!  I was then told that maybe I didn’t have to wait 3 days.  I would have googled what to do, but alas, I couldn’t.  Because obviously the phone was unusable.  This happened first thing after work, so I had to wait an hour and a half commuting home before I could even do anything proactive about this.

Everyone who knows me also knows that I like to tweet and update my Facebook status.  All the time.  Especially when commuting.  It’s how I pass this time.  But not this time.  This time I had to go without.  I would have tweeted about what happened to my phone right after it happened, but that would have required use of the phone.  Not only did my phone undergo this accident, but I couldn’t even let people know about it.

To add insult to injury, I was surrounded by people on the Canada Line who were using their phones.  To text, to talk, to look up random stuff on the internet.  I think I went through withdrawal.  It was bad.  And then I wondered if we had rice at home.  I was pretty sure we did, but I thought maybe I should call my mom to check and make sure.  And then I remembered I couldn’t call her.  And then I wondered if it mattered what kind of rice you used.  And that maybe I should message a friend to ask them.  And then I remembered that I couldn’t.

It’s been over 2 hours since the incident.  My phone is now sitting in a container of rice.  This better cure it.  It’s only been sitting in there for less than an hour.  And already I long to take it out and try to use it.  But I know that I shouldn’t.  Some websites said to leave it overnight.  I can do that.  Others said to leave it for 5 days.  I can’t do that.  There’s no way.  Not gonna happen.  How the hell do you go 5 days without a phone?  Not knowing whether or not it will even come out alive after those 5 days have passed?

I don’t want it to end like this.  I may hate my phone but I also love it and the accident was my fault for leaving it carelessly in my pocket.  I need it to make a full recovery.  It was already in bad shape to begin with, so that can’t be good.  I just ate some rice, so that I could have a connection with it.  I’m constantly talking about how crappy my phone is and how it’s a piece of shit.  But I never wanted it to end up in the toilet.

I submerged it in the rice. Maybe that will give it more of a fighting chance.

8 thoughts on “My phone fell in the toilet

  1. I hope your phone salvaging works out.

    I’ve never dropped my phone in a toilet before, but I’ve had friends who have. Though they have all been girls…I guess it is a girl thing to do. I blame their fashion with all the tiny, semi-useless pockets.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Can I take my phone out of the rice yet? | Random and unnewsworthy

  3. Pingback: I don’t need a phone | Random and unnewsworthy

  4. Pingback: Reunited and it feels so good | Random and unnewsworthy

  5. Pingback: I went to the library | Random and unnewsworthy

  6. Pingback: I flushed peace down the toilet | Random and unnewsworthy

  7. Pingback: My phone won’t charge | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

