Reunited and it feels so good

I am very please to inform you that my phone has made a full recovery.  This morning before I left for work, in an extremely cautious and panic ridden state, I removed my blackberry and battery from the container of rice in which they rested.  I then carefully inserted the battery.  And attached the back of the phone.  And then I waited as it rebooted.  And after waiting, I saw that oh so familiar flash of red light once again.  And I tested it, checked my new texts, bbm, and facebook messages.  All seemed to work fine.  And so I did what I do best.  I updated my facebook status and tweeted using my phone.

It was a very painstaking two and a half days that we spent apart, neither of us knowing our fate.  I’m glad that I waited, to be sure that it would recover.  Had I been too eager, things may not have worked out so well.  The time apart has been good for us.  I used to just focus on how horrible it had been to me and blamed it for everything.  But I do realize now that I may have been too needy.  I rely on it to do its job, yes.  But I don’t need it every second and I don’t need to be tweeting and texting constantly, at a pace that it may not be able to keep up with.

People have said that I could do a lot better than this phone.  And I know they’re probably right.  But I’ve made my decision.  When it was buried in the rice and I was waiting for it to recover, I wanted it to get better.  Having it not recover would have been the perfect excuse to finally trade up and be done with it once and for all.  But that was not what I had hoped for.  I knew I needed more time with it before I could move on.

As an exercise in trust, I took it with me into the bathroom.  Into the very same stall in which it fell in the toilet.  But I made sure to transfer it carefully from my pocket to my purse right away, in order to avoid disaster.  This allowed for me to prove that I will no longer be as careless as I once was.  It would have been very sad had I made the same mistake yet again.  But I didn’t.  Because I’m better now.  We’re better now.

I’ve decided to keep the phone out of its case for now.  I know this seems counterintuitive, as the case is there in order to protect it.  But this is not necessary.  Because I’m here to protect it.  And I like it better without the case.  It’s lighter and more sleek and easier to handle.  The case was only weighing it down, not allowing it to reach its full potential.  Also I think I may have lost the case.

The strange thing is that I can’t recall it freezing on me today.  It’s almost as if it’s working better after what its been through.  Maybe it’s afraid that if it doesn’t shape up, it might meet the same fate once more.  I can imagine that falling in a toilet and then being completely buried in rice for an undetermined amount of time would be highly traumatic.  Or maybe that time away from me has just allowed it time to reflect on its actions and make the decision to be better for me.  Whatever the reason, I appreciate it and I hope it lasts.  At least until I can get credit for an upgrade.

My blackberry is out of the rice and back in my hand where it belongs.

6 thoughts on “Reunited and it feels so good

  1. the phone that I’m using now was a gift from my Uncle almost two years ago. I had it accidentally slip off my hand into the floor where it broke a few times. It’s still almost perfectly working though. But I can’t seem to understand why your phone needed to be buried in the rice. poor blackberry 😦

    hahahah.. lovely post!

    Like

    • On Wednesday, my phone fell out of my pocket and into the toilet. I asked around and googled what to do if this happens, and I was told to take out the battery and put the phone in a container of uncooked rice, which helps absorb the moisture. Either it worked, or it was a coincidence, but I’m grateful that it’s working again.
      Glad you liked the post!

      Like

  2. Pingback: I went to the library | Random and unnewsworthy

  3. Pingback: I flushed peace down the toilet | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

