I went to the library

My new library card

Yeah, I know, you’re thinking what?  Me?  Go to the library?  Why would I go and do something like that?  Well the other day, I had some errands to run and there happened to be a library in the area.  I decided to go in, since I had time to kill and nothing important left to do.  Also I really needed to use the bathroom.  That was pretty much the only reason I went in.  But I thought while I was there I would look around a bit.  And I decided I may as well take out a few books.

But I didn’t have a library card.  I don’t know what happened to it.  I must have lost it at some point.  It hadn’t been used in years.  What purpose would I have to use it?  If I needed to do research for school, I could use the UBC libraries.  Or better yet, I could use the internet.  What need did I have for books?  If I did happen to want to read something for fun, my mom was always taking out books from the library, so I could always just borrow one of hers to read if I had the time to do so.

But it’s been a while since I’ve read for fun.  In school, there were far too many readings already.  I had a bunch of books for my classes that I wasn’t reading.  There would be no point taking out library books so they could sit there unread as well.  But I thought maybe I should start again and occasionally read something because I want to read it.  I do that with blogs right now, but I suppose reading a couple novels couldn’t hurt either.

I applied for a new library card upon realizing I no longer had one.  I think there may have been fines on the previous one.  Oh well.  I ended up taking out six books and they are all due in a month.  Yeah, I’m not going to read them all.  But that’s what renewing is for.  In a second year English class I took, I constantly renewed a couple books for the whole term, because that way I saved money and didn’t have to buy them.  And in a second year Political Science class, I renewed some books about Hobbes like 20 times when I had to write a paper.  And I either misplaced them or just didn’t want to bother taking them back.  Clicking the renew button a bunch of times until they were recalled was just easier.

Have I read any of the six books I took out?  No.  No I have not.  But I did start one of them.  It was about finding a career after graduation.  It has yet to be helpful.  I knew it wouldn’t be, but I thought I’d go ahead and give it a try anyway.  I started reading it at the bus stop and on the bus on my way home that day.  Because that was day 1 of my 2.5 days without my cell phone.  I figured I would use a book as a substitute while my phone recovered.  But ever since getting my phone back, I haven’t touched any of the books.  Go figure.

I realized that one of the reasons I don’t like to borrow books from the library is I tend to misplace them.  I mean I find them soon enough, but occasionally end up with a very small fine.  One year in high school, I think it was Grade 9, I couldn’t get my yearbook on the last day because of an unpaid library fine.  So while everyone else was signing each others’ yearbooks, I had to go to the library and wait there for them to let me pay my stupid fine, I think it was like $2 or something.  And by the time that was over and I got my yearbook, people were getting ready to leave and less eager to sign it.  Not that I would’ve gotten a lot of great messages or anything.  But still.

So now I have six books which I may or may not read before they are due.  Who am I kidding, I definitely won’t.  But I may read a couple.  That much I can manage.  And renew the others.  Or renew them all probably, because when the hell am I going to go back to the library?

The 6 books I borrowed from the library

3 thoughts on “I went to the library

  1. Pingback: The bee in the bedroom: A tale of cowardice | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

