I flushed peace down the toilet

I’ve been having a lot of trouble with toilets lately.  Don’t worry, it’s nothing gross.  I haven’t clogged one or anything.  Yet.  Things just tend to fall in there.  Things that have no place being in a toilet.  Things that I love.  And I find this very sad and upsetting.  I feel like life is implying that the things I love are crappy.

You may already know that my blackberry fell in the toilet last week, resulting in me spending two and a half days without it while it had the moisture sucked out of it by a bunch of uncooked rice.  It is now working again and I vowed I would never drop it again, at least not in the toilet.  It’s just a shame I didn’t extend that vow to any of my other possessions.

What did I drop this time?  Nothing valuable.  So it’s really not a big deal.  But I still can’t believe I managed to drop two things in a toilet within a span of six days.  Is this a new trend for me?  I don’t want to be that person.  How do I stop this from happening?

Anyway, what I lost in the toilet this time was an earring.  Luckily, it was a cheap earring.  I believe I got them on sale at Claire’s.  And I don’t wear them often.  They are one of my more childish pairs of earrings I suppose.  But I’ve always loved earrings and wearing random ones.  These particular ones are shaped like peace signs.  And I wonder if this is a sign of some sort, like an indication that I will never have peace in my life or something.

When it fell in, I hesitated.  With my blackberry, I reached in to retrieve it right away.  With the earring, I thought about it, almost retrieved it, then reconsidered, then thought about it again.  And came to the conclusion that it wasn’t worth it.  It was tiny, harder to pick up than a phone.  And I would have had to roll and my sleeves and just really didn’t feel like bothering.  I’m constantly losing and breaking earrings anyway.  I’d just never lost one this way before.

So yeah, I flushed the peace sign earring down the toilet.  The other one still remains, never to be worn again.  Although I suppose I could try and rock the look of wearing just the one?  I’ve done that before unknowingly when I’ve lost an earring.  But yeah.  I feel like this might be a metaphor for life.  Peace is often just within our reach, but we’re often not willing to do what it takes to attain it, and allow it to slip away.  Or in this case, be flushed away.

My remaining peace sign earring. Currently feeling lonely after losing it's partner to the toilet.

5 thoughts on “I flushed peace down the toilet

    • Oh, neither of these disasters occurred in my bathroom. Everything is fine when I’m at home. The phone fell in the toilet at work and the earring and the bathroom at volunteering. Maybe it’s a sign I should just stay home?

      Like

  1. Oh my god this is gonna sound crazy but I have lost one of mine and I am left with just one I love them I’m not scared to say please may I have this one haha x

    Like

Leave a Reply

