With great hair comes great responsibility

My hair after washing, blow drying, some straightening, & some product.

In case you’ve been wondering, I have washed my hair.  Twice since getting the keratin smoothing treatment.  Waiting five days to wash your hair actually isn’t bad at all.  Since my hair is smoother and neater now, it still looks decent on the fifth day.  Or maybe I’m just imagining that it looks decent.  Either way, it’s good enough for me.

My hair later in the day, after being exposed to the outside & being on the go.

I’ve stocked up on shampoo and conditioner to last me for the next couple months while my hair stays smooth.  Together with my new hair dryer, we’ll be unstoppable.  Even my crappy flat iron can contribute now that my hair is more manageable.  In the past I would get fed up with it fairly quickly.  I’m happier with it now.

Keraline aftercare shampoo & conditioner.

I thought I would be smart and buy some aftercare shampoo.  I did and I used it.  But after, I realized it was for Brazilian keratin treatment.  And I wasn’t sure if that was the same thing I had done or something different.  And then I started to worry that I’d damaged my hair by using an aftercare treatment for a treatment that wasn’t the treatment I’d had.  So I went out and bough more shampoo, this time sulfate free and for colour treated hair.  There is still colour in my hair, highlights that are fading and growing out.  But I refuse to get them redone or touch up the roots.  Who can be bothered?  I’ll just wait til they grow out fully.  This shampoo was buy 2 get 1 free, so I also got conditioner and a hair mask.  The hair stylist told me I should use a hair mask once a week.  Or some such frequency.  I’ve yet to do so.

Orgnx shampoo, conditioner, & hair mask. Buy 2 get 1 free.

The problem still remains of my hair being dry.  After blow drying it, it looked very dry, even after putting a little product in it.  And flat ironing it some more only made it more dry.  But it only appears this way the day that I wash it.  Somehow, the day after, I can make it look better.  At least I think it’s better.  When I was buying the shampoo, I asked the girl at the counter if it would be good for this.  She was not very knowledgeable.  I don’t think she knew what keratin treatment was.  When I told her it made it smoother, she was like “Oh, yeah it looks really smooth”.  I think she was just trying to be nice.  It was kind of dry looking that day.

Conair hair dryer that's fast & efficient.

At least I can now spend significantly less time on my hair.  But time is still time.  I was hoping that I’d be able to just wash and go.  That’s the dream.  A dream that I suppose is unattainable.  Alas, we can’t have it all.  But having more manageable hair has made me more motivated to make sure it actually looks good.  When my hair was just a frizzy mess, putting in effort was in vain, because it still wouldn’t turn out looking great.  Now that good hair days are achievable, I may as well do what I can to make them a reality.  At least until the treatment wears out in a couple months.  At which point I will either try harder, or just give up completely.

My hair after 2 washes & less straightening.

6 thoughts on “With great hair comes great responsibility

  1. Pingback: How not to hit on a girl at a bookstore | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: The bee in the bedroom: A tale of cowardice | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

