I love shoes

My simple, brown, low heeled shoes

So the Army & Navy Shoe Sale starts next Wednesday.  I didn’t realize it was so soon.  For some reason I thought it was in May, and then was pleasantly surprised when I realized it was early than I expected.  And then my mind started racing and trying to mentally prepare myself for what is to come.

These might be the only things I own that are plaid

I read a blog post where the writer said he at first thought that the term “legendary” was an exaggeration, and then realized how big a deal it actually was.  Legendary, that makes me thing of Barney on How I Met Your Mother.  I’ll admit that years ago, I would have thought the same thing.  And I would have laughed at those women who were obsessing over a shoe sale.  If you think about it, it does sound ridiculous.  Should I be ashamed right now?  Now that I’m one of them?

I love a good pair of high tops, even if they're pink

I first discovered this legendary event two years ago.  I went to the location downtown on 36 West Cordova Street.  But I didn’t go on the first day.  It goes on for several days, and they receive new stock every day.  There are plenty of shoes to go around.  So I never understood why people went crazy and HAD to be there first thing in the morning on the first day of the event.  I heard there was a woman who would have her personal assistant line up for her at 4:30 am, just so she could be the first one through the doors when they opened at 8:00 am.  That’s insane!  4:30??  I may love shoes, but that’s not something I’m willing to do.  And even if I had a personal assistant, I wouldn’t make her do it either.  Although I’m guessing she pays her personal assistant good money with demands like that.  Now I kind of wish I was her personal assistant…

These metallic heels were so comfortable I bought them in black as well

So yes, I went two years ago, and then again last year.  So the 63rd annual Army & Navy shoe sale will be my third.  Third time’s a charm, right?  I will admit that I can’t even remember how many shoes I bought each time.  And I may not have gone on the first day, but I did go multiple times.  Three times the first year, I think?  And twice the second?  Not 100% sure.  But I remember going with my friend the first time, and she was done and ready to go after finding one pair of shoes.  Yeah.  One.  Pair.  Of shoes.  Yeah, I don’t get it either.  And then I felt guilty for making her wait while I scrambled to find pairs and then spent forever deciding which ones to buy.  Cause no one wants to be that person who makes someone else wait.  So I learned my lesson.  My next trip there, I went alone.  And I had all the time I needed.  Some things you just have to do alone.  Can’t have anyone holding you back when you’re shoe shopping.

Can't go wrong with a pair of black sandals you can easily slip into

Last year, one thing I recall, as I was looking through the size 8 section, was a woman who came up to me with a pair of shoes and said “Can you try these on for me?”.  Because she wanted them for her daughter, who was also a size 8, and wanted to make sure they would be a good fit.  So I did, because I’m a nice person.  And they were a good fit.  They were comfortable and I told her so and she thanked me and took the shoes.  And then I thought, they were nice, and they fit well, now I want them…  I should have just told her they were terrible so that she would leave them behind.  Damn.

I think these are only pair of rain boots I've ever owned

Some people get VIP access to the shoe sale.  I’m not exactly sure what that entails, but I think you get to skip the line and then you have a personal shopper holding your shopping baskets for you?  Or something?  I don’t know.  But whatever it is, I want it.  They have contests on the radio, but I haven’t heard how to win those or when to call in.  I think I’m always listening at the wrong time.  But then I discovered that there’s a Facebook contest. Which is so more my style.  And so naturally, I entered.  I used a picture of my red rain boots that was taken the first time I wore them at SlutWalk Vancouver last year.

I even bought some running shoes for the gym

I wish the contest was based on how many pictures of shoes you bought you posted.  Cause I could definitely win that.  But it’s based on amount of votes, as these things usually are.  This is the link, if you want to see the picture and maybe cast a vote to get me one step closer to the sale.  Not only do you get VIP access, but you get a gift card to spend towards your purchases.  What’s better than shoes that are on sale?  Shoes that are free!  How great would that be?

They also have foot lotion & foot spray

So now I wait, and see if I can possibly win anything.  I wasn’t even sure if I was going to go on the first day or not, seeing as it will likely be complete chaos, and I don’t exactly do well with crowds, especially crazed, shoe obsessed crowds.  But I happen to have next Wednesday off.  And so I can go down there pretty much whenever I want.  4:30 am is out of the question.  Do I want to be there at 8:00 am?  Maybe.  Does VIP access include body guards?  That would helpful, I’m sure.  I need to decide what shoes to wear to the sale.  They’ll have to be comfortable, as I make my way through the crowds.  And not too fancy.  Don’t want someone to pick them up and try to buy them by mistake.

Me at the shoe sale 2 years ago, trying to make a decision

15 thoughts on “I love shoes

  1. Pingback: Army & Navy Shoe Sale, Part 1: VIP | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: Army & Navy Shoe Sale, Part 2: Crazy | Random and unnewsworthy

  3. Pingback: Army & Navy Shoe Sale, Part 3: The Aftermath | Random and unnewsworthy

  4. Pingback: Picking up the couches, Part 2: Actually getting the couches | Random and unnewsworthy

  5. Pingback: Confessions of a shoeaholic | Random and unnewsworthy

  6. Pingback: Army & Navy Shoe Sale 2013 | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

