These boots are made for walking

The first time I wore these boots at SlutWalk Vancouver last year

Well, walking in the rain, to be more specific. But yes.  They have served me so well so far.  I was lucky enough to purchase these at the annual Army & Navy Shoe Sale last year. Some people laugh when they hear how much I love the Army & Navy Shoe Sale.  But whatever.  They just don’t understand.

They still have the ability to get attention

Funny enough, I’ve actually always hated rain boots.  I think they’re ugly for the most part. Gum boots, I mean.  I just picture little kids in yellow gum boots jumping in puddles.  And they just seemed childish to me.  It never appealed to me as a footwear option for grown women.  There are more stylish boots that you can get out there without resorting to gum boots.  They try to jazz them up with pretty patterns and such, but it just never worked for me.  They’ve also never seemed to fit properly either.

Ready to wear

But at the Army and Navy Shoe Sale last year, I had a change of heart.  After going through piles of shoes and deciding between them which ones I “needed” to have, those bright red rain boots caught my eye.  I was drawn to them.  They were different from any other rain boots I had ever seen.  They were special.  So bright.  So red.  So waterproof.  And so comfortable.  What were the chances they would be all those things?  I knew I had to have them.

They have really good tread for all the walking I do

Many people splurge on Hunters.  I was never willing to do so.  Mainly because they just didn’t seem appealing enough.  If they were really that great, then maybe I would spring for a pair, but I didn’t see the need for it.  Nothing against them, it’s just that everyone has them and the colours weren’t exciting enough for my liking.  I have heard good things about them though, and I’m pretty sure they are long lasting.

I love the buckle on the side

But I remain perfectly content with my Cougar rain boots.  I think it’s the fact that they’e just so vibrantly red.  They get noticed.  Pretty much every time I’ve worn them, I’ve received a compliment or at least some sort of comment on them, more so than any other footwear or clothing article I’ve ever worn.  Even in the state they’re in now, slightly beat up due to constant wearing, they still look good enough to get noticed.  I think if I died tomorrow, my red rain boots would be one of the things that people would remember me for.

Resting after a long day

They’ve become my go to choice of footwear when it rains.  Which in Vancouver is all the time.  But as those who live here can attest to, Vancouver weather tends to be very bipolar.  So the day will start out sunny, then it’ll rain, then it’ll stop, then it’ll rain harder.  Or it will be raining in the morning, then sunny in the afternoon, and then who knows what next.  It’s extremely frustrating.  As a consequence, I often make poor footwear decisions.  For example, wearing suede shoes on what I think is going to be a sunny day, only to find out that it will be filled with rain instead.

I can even wear them with sweatpants

The opposite happens as well, where I’ll be all prepped with my rain boots, and it will indeed be a sunny day.  This is preferable though, because who says that rain boots are only for rain?  If they look good, then I am permitted to wear them whenever the hell I want, regardless of what the weather should dictate.  And I have.  I try to colour coordinate when I can, but sometimes the red rain boots don’t exactly match the outfit I’m wearing.  But I don’t care.  I make it work.

The zipper's still going strong

I know I already wrote a blog post about another pair of boots not too long ago.  But it’s never too early for another one.  And besides, that one was expressing my sorrow at having lost a good pair.  It made me realize I should cherish these things while I still have them.  Also I’m slightly worried about my boots.  Zippers often fail me, and I fear that in the future the zippers on these ones may do the same.  The little top parts of them have broken off slightly.  But you can’t really tell.  I’m hoping they will pull through and give me another year at least.  Is that too much to ask for?  I think maybe some day in the future I will end up being like my boots.  You know, good looking and a cougar.

The brand of my boots

7 thoughts on “These boots are made for walking

  1. Pingback: What shoes should I wear tomorrow? | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: Army & Navy Shoe Sale, Part 3: The Aftermath | Random and unnewsworthy

  3. Pingback: I went back to Army & Navy | Random and unnewsworthy

  4. Pingback: Confessions of a shoeaholic | Random and unnewsworthy

  5. Pingback: I guess this is goodbye | Random and unnewsworthy

  6. Pingback: Farewell red rain boots, you’ve served me well, but now it’s time for you to die | Random and unnewsworthy

  7. Pingback: Army & Navy Shoe Sale 2013 | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

