What shoes should I wear tomorrow?

So I’ve been talking about the Army & Navy Shoe Sale for a while now.  You’re probably sick of it.  But oh well.  There’s still more where those posts came from.  Seeing as it hasn’t even started yet.  So I didn’t win that contest on Facebook.  Heather from Surrey had over 400 votes.  She’s a lucky girl, lots of shoes and lots of friends.  But she deserved to win, her photo was pretty awesome.

I’m kind of bummed that I didn’t win a VIP party at the Roxy and $500 worth of shoes.  But I still win, because I got the second most votes.  So I still get VIP access for the sale & $100 towards shoes, which is pretty sweet.  I’m supposed to be there at 7:30 am.  Still figuring out the details.  Damn that’s early.  But I guess it’s worth it?  For first dibs on shoes?

What shoes would be best to wear to a shoe sale?

I need to figure out what shoes I should wear tomorrow.  I mean comfort trumps all in this case.  I read advice that you should wear flip flops, as they are easy to remove and then you can quickly try on other pairs.  But I feel like if I wear flip flops, I could easily lose one, or maybe both.  Plus someone might step on them, and what if I need to run?  Or at least fast walk, towards a shoe rack?  I feel like it might make for a dangerous situation.

So I’m thinking maybe runners?  Cause then I can move quickly and easily.  And I can wear a comfortable pair where I can slip them on and off without having to untie and retie the laces every time.  I’m thinking maybe a skate shoe style, so it doesn’t look like I’m going to the gym.  Not that it matters where it looks like I’m going.  But yeah.  The problem is, most of the shoes that I own like that are at least partly suede, and it’s going to be raining tomorrow.

So maybe just regular flats?  That I can slip on and off with ease?  Better than flip flops, because they’ll be less dangerous in a frenzy.  And my feet won’t get totally wet in the rain.  But then what if I want to try on boots or shoes that I would want to wear socks with?  Maybe I should just wear flats and then bring a pair of socks with me, just in case?

One would think that since it’s going to rain, I should wear my red rain boots.  But no.  Boots are not appropriate footwear when shoe shopping at a massive event.  Because I’ll have to carry them around with me as I try on shoes, or leave them aside as I make my way through the aisles.  Plus those boots, I’m actually afraid someone might steal or mistake for a current sale item.

Basically I guess I just need a good shoe that can get me there.  Once there, I’ll likely forget about what shoes I came there in.  But I don’t want someone to try on my shoes by mistake.  That’s happened to me before.  I will be gaining new pairs of shoes, but I don’t want to accidentally lose an old pair in the process.  When did shoe shopping become such an ordeal?

I suppose I will figure it out.  I should probably go to bed soon, seeing as I will have to be up super early tomorrow in order to make it down there before the sale starts.  But I probably won’t.  I’ll just be tired tomorrow.  Oh well.  The excitement and determination to find awesome shoes will give me the energy that I need to get past my sleep deprivation.  I may not know yet what shoes I’ll wear to the sale tomorrow, but I know for sure what shirt I’m going to wear.  It couldn’t get more perfect than this one…

The perfect shirt to wear to a legendary shoe sale

13 thoughts on “What shoes should I wear tomorrow?

  1. Pingback: Army & Navy Shoe Sale, Part 1: VIP | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: Army & Navy Shoe Sale, Part 2: Crazy | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

