Army & Navy Shoe Sale, Part 3: The Aftermath

If you haven’t already, go read Part 1

And then when you’re done reading that, go read Part 2

Or don’t.  I really don’t care what order you read these in.

Travelling home with my giant plastic bags

And so I emerged from the store, with my two giant Army & Navy shopping bags, fearful that they were dangerously close to breaking.  Really they should have given me at least three bags.  The bags were quite weak, and eleven pairs of shoes could easily rip through them, especially the ones with heels.  Also, it was raining.  A lot.  So I had to somehow maneuver and hold my umbrella, my purse, as well as the giant plastic bags filled with shoes that I was trying so desperately to keep intact.

The 4 bags I came home with, 3 of which were filled with shoes

I had another bag with me, that I sometimes carry and use if I buy a couple grocery items, and so I stopped and put a few of the shoes in there, so as to even out the weight of the bags.  And then I held that bag in my right hand with my umbrella, and held the other two in my left hand, getting a good grip on them so they wouldn’t break away.  I don’t know why it had to rain.  I kind of wanted to wear one of the new pairs right away, but a lot of them were heels and not good for walking, especially in the rain while carrying too many things.  But I did stop at the side of the road to change into one of the comfortable pairs.

There are so many different doors & entrances to the store

Now, keep in mind I had been up since 5:39 am, and I had just been through quite an ordeal.  I was so disoriented upon leaving the sale, that I started walking in the wrong direction, further down East Hastings, instead of of back towards Waterfront where I was supposed to go.  Yeah, I was heading towards the police station and the fire hall.  Because I was so used to exiting the store from the other side, that I got confused.  I soon realized my mistake and thought “Wait, this isn’t right…”.  I seriously think that all my brain power went into finding and deciding on shoes, as well as fighting my way amongst the other shoppers.

How was I supposed to remember which direction to walk in once I left?

But it’s okay, I turned around and headed back in the right direction.  I was just annoyed at having added more steps to my walk.  Don’t get me wrong, I love walking, but not in the rain with two bags full of shoes.  People must have thought I was crazy.  Keep in mind, I was also still wearing my “Keep Calm & Buy Shoes” t-shirt.  They must have thought I was some sort of freak.  At one point, this guy asked me if I was okay.  I must have appeared really drained and out of it, lugging the bags of shoes and trying to get where I needed to be.

I should have turned left upon leaving the store

Normally, I would walk all the way back to Waterfront, but I was so tired that I finally found a bus stop and stopped there to collect myself.  Also, I looked down at the new shoes I was wearing, and the rain had hit them hard.  They were leather and I was worried I was ruining them, so I changed back into my black flats, hoping to preserve the new pair.  When the bus pulled up, I got on, and then I heard someone yell towards me.  I had left my umbrella on the seat at the bus stop, and this woman had been kind enough to retrieve it for me.  I was very grateful, as the rain did not let up as I made my way home.

My brown flats are okay after being attacked by the rain

When I finally got home, my mom asked me how many pairs of shoes I bought.  I said I didn’t know.  She asked “What do you mean you don’t know?”.  And then she asked if I bought ten pairs & I said “Yeah, I think so”.  And I remembered that I was supposed to look for runners for her, but neglected to do so.  But my mission that day was to scope out the pairs on the racks that might not be there or restocked the following day.  I intend to go back and look at the runners and boots and flip flops and such that I know they have plenty of in stock.  And I will find a good pair of runners for my mom because I’m a nice person.

These black heels will go with anything

I showed her a couple pairs of heels that I bought and asked if either would work for her, cause she needs a pair to wear to my brother’s high school graduation ceremony this year.  But apparently neither of them worked.  Oh well, I tried.  My mom, my sister, and I all have the same shoe size.  So that’s one of the ways that I justify my purchases, by telling myself that I can let them borrow them as well, so it’s not just for me.  Even though it is mainly for me, especially the heels, since they tend not to wear heels.  But still.  They could if they wanted to.

I love purple shoes

Later that day, my dad asked me where I was that morning.  Because he was obviously surprised when I was up before 6 am.  I told him I went to Army & Navy.  For the shoe sale.  Downtown.  And he asked if I went with anyone.  And I said no.  And he was like “You went all the way the way downtown just to buy shoes?”.  Yes.  Yes I did.  I guess he thought it would have made more sense if I’d gone shopping with a friend.  But he doesn’t understand that it’s one of those things I had to do alone.  I also explained to him about the VIP thing, as to why I was there so early.  He also tried to ask how many pairs I bought.   I think I said I don’t know, and then when he guessed, I settled on saying I bought ten.  I don’t know why that somehow sounds better than eleven.

I am the proud owner of 11 new pairs of shoes

So I am now content with my shoe purchases.  People are surprised when I say I bought eleven pairs.  But whatever.  Go ahead and judge.  I’m happy with purchases.

Stay tuned for Part 4…

10 thoughts on “Army & Navy Shoe Sale, Part 3: The Aftermath

  1. Pingback: Army & Navy Shoe Sale, Part 2: Crazy | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: I went back to Army & Navy | Random and unnewsworthy

  3. Pingback: I went to a shoe sale and didn’t go crazy | Random and unnewsworthy

  4. Pingback: Army & Navy Shoe Sale 2013 | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

