Picking up the couches, Part 2: Actually getting the couches

Read Part 1 to find out how Translink screwed us over…

So me made it down to Budget, where my dad filled out forms and whatnot to rent the van.  It was a big van.  Well duh, it was a moving van.  But I’d never ridden in on before.  It made rattling sounds as if there was furniture already in it that was moving, even though it was completely empty.  That was a little unnerving.

Budget van that we rented

And then we got caught in what was pretty much the worst traffic ever.  It literally took forever to get to Coquitlam.  Okay, not literally forever, or else we still wouldn’t be there.  I don’t want to pull a Robin from How I Met Your Mother and use the word literally in every sentence when really I don’t mean it.  We went through New Westminster where cars were literally not moving at all.  Okay, I’ll stop.  But you get the idea, traffic was at it’s worst.  I’m not sure what happened, an accident or what, but it was awful.  It took like two hours.

When I saw Queensborough Landing, I thought about asking my dad to just drop me off at Walmart & pick me up after he’d picked up the couches.  But we weren’t in the right lane to be able to go there.  Darn.  And later, ironically, we passed by the Army & Navy in New Westminster.  I had been to the one downtown that morning, where I had purchased eleven pairs of shoes.  I asked my dad if he could just let me off there so I could go look at shoes in this location as well.  I was half joking, half serious at this point.

Some of the shoes that I bought

I cannot express enough how terrible the traffic was.  But in any case, we made it eventually.  My uncle was there to help my dad move the couches.  Why was I there?  You know, I’m not really sure.  Since I happened to be home that day I asked my dad if he needed any help and then ended up going.  Earlier on, he was going to take my brother, but he had just finished school and so he told him it was okay because I would go instead. He said my brother didn’t have to come since my uncle would be there to help move them.  And then I asked, “Why am I going then?” and he said, “I don’t know, just coming along for the ride?  Navigating in traffic?”.

So my dad and my uncle lifted the couches out of the apartment and to the van.  And I stood around doing nothing.  Well no, I stayed in the apartment to make sure no one tried to break in while they were gone.  That’s important, right?  Although I supposed my grandma could have just locked the door and taken her key.  But because I was there, she didn’t have to.  Oh, I also carried the cushions for the couch.  So there, I helped.  I wasn’t completely useless, although I came pretty close.

Couch cushions that I helped carry so I wasn't completely useless

Luckily, traffic going back home was not nearly as bad.  But by the end of it I was so sick of sitting in that van.  When we had to wait forever for the bus earlier, only to not be let on, I was very annoyed.  I still am.  My dad never takes the bus ever, except in situations like this one where there was a good reason.  I thought after seeing how unreliable it was and how long you had to wait sometimes, he’d have an appreciation for what I went through every day, and how much patience it required.

The funny thing is, I ended up having a greater appreciation for what he goes through every day and how much patience he has.  I mean, driving two hours in traffic just to pick up some couches.  Not that he does that particular thing every day, but still.  That takes tremendous patience and he’s always driving around somewhere to pick up someone or something, working, and running errands non-stop.  I mean I already knew that, but sitting in traffic that day made me think about it more.

The couches are still sitting in our garage right now.  My brother helped my dad move them there from the van the next morning.  There’s no hurry to move them into the actual living room yet.  It’s not like they’re going anywhere.  They may be heavy, but at least there’ll be no more sitting in traffic in order to get them to where they need to be.

Couches sitting in our garage

2 thoughts on “Picking up the couches, Part 2: Actually getting the couches

  1. Pingback: Picking up the couches, Part 1: Why I hate Translink | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: My parents are following me on Facebook | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

