I went back to Army & Navy

Don’t judge me.  Actually you know what, go ahead and judge me.  I don’t care.  I’m used to it.  Today’s reason for judgement, or one of them at least is due to the fact that I went back to Army & Navy.  Yes.  What?  I waited a week before going back.  That’s something, right?

I bought a pair of socks

It’s okay though, I didn’t just randomly go for the hell of it, I went with my friend to help her find a pair of shoes.  She’s a size 5, so it’s often hard for her to find a size that is small enough.  I couldn’t remember if there was a size 5 section at Army & Navy or not.  When I went last week, I just went straight for the 8s and never looked back.  But yes, they do indeed have a size 5 section.  It’s just very small.  Like half a rack.  But there seemed to be a good selection of heels on it, and they seemed to be pretty cheap too.  We had hope that we would find her a pair yet.

Running shoes, so I can pretend to be athletic

And there was me, still lurking around the size 8s, wondering if maybe it might be okay for me to purchase just one more pair.  I tried on these pair of Marc Fisher flats that I had also tried on the first time around.  I still kind of wanted them.  But I didn’t want to buy yet another $40 pair of shoes.  People already think I’m crazy.  Not that I care.  And so I sort of walked around in them for a bit while we shopped, hoping that would help me to decide.  Flats were missing from my first round of purchases. How could I go without a new pair of flats?

These Reeboks have some good support

I found myself wanting to try on boots and runners.  But I found myself without a pair of socks with which to do so.  And so I bought a pair of socks there solely for that purpose.  I was getting disappointed with the runners, and then I noticed a pair higher up in the shelf.  They were Easy Tone Reeboks.  And they were comfortable.  Throw them together with a dry fit tshirt and some spandex and I’ll look like I’m actually sporty.  No one needs to know how long it’s been since I’ve actually been to the gym.

A pair of short, black boots

I was also debating about a pair of short boots.  Rain boots were out of the question.  There were no pairs quite like my red ones.  I was hoping there would be, as my red ones are a little beat up from wear, but alas, nothing was good enough.  But these short leather boots were pretty classy.  And comfortable.  Comfort was key for them.  But since they were boots, they weren’t part of the $40 and under shoe sale.  Though they were still on sale, just not as cheap as the shoes.  I debated about them for a while, and eventually I caved and decided I would buy them for my mom as a Mother’s Day present.  And then you know, borrow them occasionally, since we conveniently have the same shoe size.  Hey, she borrows my shoes all the time, so it’s okay.

The boots even came in a box, how classy

And as for my friend?  She tried on the shoes.  But alas, came out of it with nothing.  I think I was more upset than she was about this.  Partly because having her buy something would make me feel better and more able to justify my own purchases.  By comparison to her, I just looked like I had a problem and no self control.  It was kind of upsetting.  She came very very close to at least buying a bag, but then ultimately decided against it.  Very disappointing.

Dr. Scholl’s insoles to add more comfort to my shoes

And so I ended up purchasing a pair of socks, a pair of runners, a pair of boots, and a pair of insoles.  Dr. Scholl’s for her comfort insoles.  I wanted these tana brand insoles that I liked that were cheaper but they only had them in size 5.  Go figure.  At least this time my purchases were more practical than last time.  And it doesn’t seem bad or unreasonable at all by comparison to buying eleven pairs of shoes.  So whatever, I’ll just take it as a sign that I’m improving.

I got to walk around with a considerably smaller bag this time

I would like to say that that was the end of my shopping day today.  But it wasn’t.  But that’s all I spent at Army & Navy.  Which is good.  The walk back to Waterfront was so much better this time.  It wasn’t raining as hard, I was with a friend, I didn’t look like a freak. All good things.  My shopping bag was considerably smaller.  And there was only one this time.  Well, technically two, but that’s cause she double bagged it for me so it wouldn’t break.  How very thoughtful of her.

She tied a knot in the bag to ensure my purchases would be safe

As for those flats, I did not end up buying them.  After walking in the store for a bit, I realized they would cut into the side of my foot slightly.  Which my friend assured me was a bad thing.  And so I reluctantly put them back on the shelf and we parted ways.  I know I have other flats, but I was hoping to get a new pair.  But there are still four more days left for the sale.  So who knows what could happen…

22 thoughts on “I went back to Army & Navy

  1. There is totally nothing wrong with Army & Navy. I quite enjoy going to them, actually. Although the nearest one for me is a bus and train ride away. But either way!
    I’m assuming their big shoe sale is still on then? 😛 How often do you go?

    Like

    • I love Army & Navy. I pretty much only go for the shoe sale though. I agree, there’s nothing wrong with it, what was wrong was me going back for shoes when I already bought 11 pairs. But it felt right. The sale ended on Sunday. I neglected to go back a third time, as I’d like to believe I have a bit of self control.

      Like

  2. Pingback: I bought myself a happy meal | Random and unnewsworthy

  3. Pingback: I went to South Delta to buy clothes | Random and unnewsworthy

  4. I think I know the flats you were talking about because I totally wanted to get them too! Black patent, with faux buckle detail? So cute. Alas, the cutting into the side of the foot thing was just too uncomfortable.

    Like

      • I ended up with 2 pairs of heels. I don’t really need any more heels but they were just too beautiful to pass up ♥~!They’re a bit higher than what I usually wear, so I’ve only worn 1 pair twice and haven’t worn the other one yet XD;

        Like

        • Nicely done. I bought heels I didn’t really need as well. Worn a couple pairs, but others still remain unused. But it’s okay, we’ll find the right occasions.

          Like

  5. Pingback: I went to a shoe sale and didn’t go crazy | Random and unnewsworthy

  6. Pingback: Army & Navy Shoe Sale 2013 | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

