I got a gelish nail treatment

So after a prolonged period of time where my nails were disgusting, I finally got them done.  Obviously because I bought an online voucher.  That was going to expire soon.  Cause you know I always wait until the last possible moment with these things.  It was a voucher from  The Red Pocket for a gelish nail treatment & paraffin wax treatment at Shi Nail in Richmond.  It’s literally right across the street from where my bus stop used to be.  Now it’s literally right across the street of the street that’s across from where my bus stop has currently been moved to.  If that makes any sense.

My appointment was the first of the morning, and so I got there a little before they actually opened.  And there happened to be a bench outside, where I decided to sit while I waited.  But then this stupid bee decided that this would be a good place to buzz around.  Very close to me.  They say if you don’t bother them, they won’t bother you, but I was clearly minding my own business and it bothered me nevertheless.  And so I was forced to get up off that bench and stand outside the place in my heels instead.  Yes, I’ve been wearing heels lately in order to prove that they were a good purchase and that I will make good use of them.

And then the place opened and I was let inside.  The lady gave me a form to fill out, showed me where to sit, got me a glass of water, and informed me the technician would be right with me.  Right, she was the receptionist, someone else would be doing my nails.  How do land a job like that?  Receptionist at a salon or spa.  With perks of getting free treatments.  That’s the dream right there.  I liked her outfit.  It was loose and black and comfortable looking.  And she got to wear flip flops.  I envied her.

What I didn’t realize when I bought the voucher, was that it wasn’t for a manicure.  It was just for the gel polish.  The technician asked me if I wanted a manicure, which would cost extra.  I decided against it.  I would just go with what the voucher would cover.  They always try to upsell & add on things when you buy vouchers.  I always try to resist.

I didn’t need a manicure.  What is a manicure anyway?  I thought that was a manicure.  I thought it was all included.  I guess it just meant that she wasn’t going to use her various nail tools to dig underneath my nails or get rid of excess skin or what have you.  That was fine by me.  She did file them for me though.  Which was good, since they hadn’t been filed in a while, due to me misplacing my nail file and also being too lazy.  They always ask how I want them shaped, if I want them square or round.  It doesn’t bother me that they ask, it’s just that when they do they say it as if square nails are the obvious choice.  But I don’t want them square.  I want them round.  And then afterwards I feel as though I’m being judged for making that decision.

I chose a light blue colour, because it was the one that most closely resembled the colour on my toenails.  And I like blue.  She applied a couple coats, and then went over those with the clear top coat or whatever it was.  And then you put your hands under the lights to dry.  I’m always worried that I’ll touch my nails to something before they dry which will ultimately result in them being smudged.  But this time I somehow managed to avoid that.  Good for me.

After my nails had dried, I was told to wash my hands so I could get the paraffin hand wax.  No, this has nothing to do with hair removal, they do not wax your hands.  I imagine that would be awful and painful.  Paraffin wax treatment is meant to help soften your skin.  It came with my voucher, so why not.  I was led over to the container of wax and she took my hand and submerged it, removed it, and then submerged it again.  It was as if she was trying to drown my hand.  For my other hand, I dipped it in myself.  Probably too many times, she wasn’t monitoring it.  And then they put plastic over your hands and put them in these giant oven mitt things for ten mintues.  I felt like someone who had the chicken pox and was forced to wear oven mitts so I wouldn’t scratch myself.  Actually I don’t really know if anyone does that in real life, but I’ve seen it on TV shows.  At least I remember them doing it on Full House.

Even though I didn’t get a full manicure, I am very happy with the results.  Gel polish is amazing.  I feel like I should only ever get my nails done with that from now on.  I feel like the colour is more shiny and vibrant than normal polish.  And more importantly, it lasts.  It’s been about a week now, and my nails are still in good shape.  Normally by this time, they would be chipped, and probably badly.  But not this time.  And it’s not like I’ve been extra careful either.  I’ve been quite careless actually.  But it doesn’t matter.  I feel as though nothing will destroy the gel polish.  It’s like it’s indestructible.  Other polishes should cower in its presence.  I would go and purchase a bottle myself, if only I wasn’t so bad at applying it.

6 thoughts on “I got a gelish nail treatment

Leave a Reply

