People who annoy me on public transit

Well, a lot of people annoy me on public transit. Most people annoy me on public transit. It’s way too much to fit into one blog post. There’s really enough material there for me to dedicate an entire blog to. But I won’t. Because that would be overkill. And possibly annoying. And the last thing I want is to be like the people I’m about to complain about.

Instead of just listing off the types of people who annoy me, I’ll just provide you with some recent examples. The first, being the old lady who pushed me yesterday morning. I was standing on the crowded Canada Line, as we pulled up to a stop. And people got on. And then I felt this woman pushing me. And I thought what the fuck? And then I saw that it was this old lady trying to push me out of the way so that she could get to the priority seating, where the person gave up the seat for her. But why should the fact that she was old offend me any less than if it were a person of a younger age? She was old, but not mute. The least she could have done was to say excuse me. And then I would have happily moved out of her way. The fact that she so rudely felt the need to push me made me not even want to get out of her way. You always hear old people saying that young people these days have no respect for their elders. Well if you want respect, maybe don’t push people. Respect goes both ways.

Another person who annoyed me yesterday morning was the guy sitting beside me on the bus. No, he didn’t push me. He didn’t even fall asleep on me, as people often tend to do. He didn’t actually do anything to me. But he annoyed me nevertheless. At some point, he started scratching his arm. Profusely. He kept going. Even if I looked away, I could hear it happening. And then he switched arms. Okay, I’m not saying don’t scratch if you’re itchy, but the way he kept going at it bothered me. I just wanted it to stop. And I hoped he didn’t have something that I might catch. The last thing I need is a skin disease. And then when he stopped, he started scratching and rubbing his nose and his chin. And later went back to scratching his arm. I really think he should invest in some calamine lotion. Or maybe see a doctor.

The other guy who annoyed me that morning, was sitting across from me. Well, not directly across from me, more like across and a seat over. Not that it matters. The point is, I was able to see him. He didn’t do anything. Maybe I wasn’t so much annoyed as judgemental in this case. I’m not one to judge people based on their looks. But this guy sort of pretty much had a mullet. So yeah. Enough said.

Not to be outdone by yesterday morning, this morning had it’s share of annoying commuters as well. As I stood on the train, there was this girl who got on at a later stop and stood by the door. And she kept on sniffling and snorting. Okay maybe not actually snorting, but you get the idea. She kept this up the whole time. As I’ve stated in the past, I hate when people do this. It’s gross and could easily be remedied by blowing your nose. I think maybe I should start carrying a pack of tissues with me to offer to people in these situations, but I feel like maybe they might get offended.

At an later stop, more people got on. One of those people was this fat, mean looking man, who just happened to stand beside me. Awesome. Maybe he wasn’t overly mean looking. It was more a combination of meanness and confusion, if that makes any sense. I cringed as his sausage like hands reached for the pole. So he stood next to me, fine. Except that he was a heavy breather. Like unnecessarily so. He sighed and breathed loudly and heavily. And continued to do so. And I could feel his breath on me as he did so. It was not pleasant. I stood there, praying for it to finally be over.

Those were just some recent examples. Obviously there are many more types of people who annoy me on public transit. The list is endless. I mean there are people on the bus annoying me as I’m writing this. But I won’t go there. Not right now, anyway.

3 thoughts on “People who annoy me on public transit

  1. Ahhhhh you were with scratching guy and mullet man…you needed rat tail dude…and guy who can’t stop sneezing and saying sorry…hehe…love your posts

    Like

    • Thanks! Oh God, that combination would be too much all at once. But it’s bound to happen one of these days. I think guy who can’t stop sneezing is one of the worst.

      Like

  2. Pingback: I ate my lunch on the bus | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

