Relying on public transit at night

So I would very much like to go home right now. But apparently the canada line is delayed and less frequent tonight. I don’t even know what time it’s coming. The screen that usually tells you how many more minutes until your train comes currently just says “Trains to Watferfront, Richmond and YVR every 30 minutes.” Does that mean the Richmond train could have come 2 minutes before I got here, and now I have to wait another half an hour before it comes? Because that just fucking sucks.

I’m at Broadway and Cambie. Normally, I’d walk across and down the stairs to the other side of the platform where the trains to Richmond are. But tonight, they are blocked off. And everyone has to be on the side of the platform where the trains to Waterfront go. And I have no idea when the Richmond train will finally show up.

A train just arrived, but it’s going to YVR Airport. Which doesn’t help me at all. I could have gotten on it and then got off at Bridgeport and then waited there for the Richmond train. But there were no seats on it anyway so there was no point. And in the past, there were a couple times when I got on the YVR train and forgotten to get off at Bridgeport, because I wasn’t paying attention, and then ended up at Templeton, almost at the airport. And then I had to get off and turn back, and transfer again, and just ended up wasting a lot of time. So not worth it.

Oh good, the Richmond train finally showed up. How nice of it to do so. I don’t know what the hell is going on with the blocked off areas and the delays. There was no explanation for it. The guy didn’t explain anything or inform me of the times, he just pointed to the platform where I should wait, since the other platform was blocked off and inaccessible. Good to see how efficiently he’s doing his job.

Alright, so commuting tonight isn’t so bad after all. At least not as bad as if I had missed it by 2 minutes and had to wait and extra 30. But still. Wait to freak me out with the delayed and limited services. And it’s still a major inconvenience. I feel bad for people who did miss the train by 2 minutes and had to wait another 30. Because I’ve totally been there. At night, my local buses come every hour. So if you miss one, you’re screwed. And more often than not, the canada line will get you to your final station, right when your bus is driving away. Oh, the joys of public transit at night.

2 thoughts on “Relying on public transit at night

Leave a Reply

