Just another morning

When I get on the bus, I always hope that no one will sit beside me. At least not for a while. I know that eventually it will fill up and inevitably happen. As luck would have it, the guy who sat beside me kind of took up more than his own seat. How pleasant. At least the first bus isn’t too long of a ride. Usually. As my eyes wandered as I sat there, I made the mistake of looking directly into this old man’s ear, which had ear hair in it. That’s something that I cannot unsee. This woman across from me was reading The Hunger Games. Which reminds me I need to blog about that. The movie, not the book. I haven’t read the book. I suppose I will. Eventually. Though not on the bus. I reserve that time for blogging.

Luckily, the Canada Line didn’t drive away right as my bus stopped at the station. With a minute left, I was able to make it, despite the metro & 24 hours news guys in my way. I walked by this guy with paint on his shirt who tried to whistle, but sort of failed as it didn’t come out right. There was a group of kids at the station. But the teacher or leader or whoever had the good sense not to try and cram them on this train and told them they would wait for the next one. Thank God for that. And good luck to the people on the next train.

They really should have a tissue dispenser and a hand sanitizer dispenser on all forms of public transit. Like you get it complimentary with your fare. It’s the least they could do. But even if they did, I bet the people who really need it wouldn’t even use it. Like the woman standing beside me who keeps wiping her nose on her hand. They should also have a vending machine with breath mints, mouth wash, and deodorant. I wouldn’t mind if they charged a fee for those. I’m sure people desperate enough would buy it. They could really make a lot.

It wasn’t really raining it Richmond. Spitting at most. But of course when I got out of the station at Oakridge, it was pouring. And I’m wearing suede shoes. Because I’m that smart. I wasn’t going to, but I couldn’t wear the shoes I wanted because I didn’t have the right socks, and then I wasted time looking but to no avail. And ran out of time and didn’t get the chance to grab breakfast, so I’ve already eaten part of my lunch. I also didn’t have time to fix my hair, so it looks worse than usual right now, especially with the rain.

Suede skate shoes

As I crossed the street, there was an old couple right in front of me, walking very slowly. He had a walker and she was beside him, trying to hold an umbrella over both their heads. It was kind of sweet actually. But for a moment I felt like we were going to die because we wouldn’t make it across the street in time. I stupidly missed not one, but two 41 buses. Well not so much missed as didn’t get on. Because I went to the 43 stop. Where there is no shelter from the rain. But it’s the faster bus. Although I doubt if it will actually catch up to the 41s at this rate. But oh well. I’m safe and dry on it now and there is no one sitting beside me. Life is good.

 

4 thoughts on “Just another morning

  1. hehehehe….I needed shoes…the good black ones..as opposed to my everyday ones for a funeral today anddd I was late to work because I could only find one:( sooo, I wore the ones that I reallyyy should have polished..sooooo, my point is, I understand and commiserate with your search for socks

    Like

Leave a Reply

