My thoughts on The Hunger Games

Yes, I finally watched The Hunger Games a couple weekends ago. And no, I haven’t read the book. But of course I was curious and had to see for myself what all the hype was about. Better late than never, right?

I liked it. I mean the major hype about it may have been a little excessive. But I liked it. More than I thought I would actually. I didn’t really know what I was expecting. Maybe it’s cause the whole concept is so convoluted that it bothers me. I know it’s not exactly a new concept, I remember one time my friend showed me a clip from the movie Battle Royale where this girl stabs a guy in the crotch. I don’t know why she felt it necessary for me to watch that particular scene.

But I mean with both movies, I was just like why would they send children to fight to the death? And why the age range? Obviously the young ones aren’t going to win. It’s a good thing Katniss volunteered as tribute, her sister wouldn’t have stood a chance.

I think I would have volunteered. Not because I would want to die or because I would think I had a shot at winning. But because life seemed to suck for them and they didn’t have enough food. At least that way you’d have some time to eat and live well before you died. Also they got free waxing and had people to make them look beautiful. Win win. You know, before losing and dying.

I knew at some point once the fight to the death had started, that I would get upset. It’s not fair that they can control who wins by killing off the others by “natural” disasters. The way Katniss started is exactly how I would have played it. Getting the hell away from everyone else. But then I would have died in the fire. Or more like died 10 seconds in by not being able to outrun someone with a weapon. I thought the rule changes were just too convenient to the way the story was going. Really I wanted Rue to win. I’m sure you did too at some point.

Every time they showed Liam Hemsworth‘s character looking upset because of the love thing between Katniss and Peeta, I was just like “Ah hah!” & laughed at him in my head. I’m not sure why. Maybe because he’s not as hot as his older brother? Maybe because I heard he’s dating Miley Cyrus? Maybe I secretly have a crush on him? Who knows? I’m hoping it’s not the latter.

Also, speaking of Peeta, having not read the book before, I did not know the correct spelling of his name. So for the longest time I thought his name was Peter and that everyone was just pronouncing it with an accent for some reason. I’m not sure how long it took before I finally caught on.

But my major thought during this movie was “When did Lenny Kravitz get so hot?”. I mean wow. He looked so damn good in this movie. I mean I guess I’m just used to seeing him with the nose ring and the afro. Which is a look he rocks very well. But I don’t know, something about his style in the movie just worked. Maybe it was the gold eyeliner? Who knows? But it worked.

I suppose I should go read the book so that I can compare it. Everyone was saying the book was amazing, before the movie came out. But that usually tends to put me off wanting to read things. But at least now in any scenes with Cinna, I can picture Lenny Kravitz.

6 thoughts on “My thoughts on The Hunger Games

Leave a Reply

