Can you hear me now?

It happens all the time. You’re on the phone with someone and something disrupts the connection and you can no longer hear them clearly. This especially sucks when you’re already hard of hearing and the person on the other end is already difficult to understand. These conversations can be embarrassing in public. But at some point, wouldn’t you just admit defeat, maybe try the call again, or move to a different area if possible? I would. But other people are apparently way more optimistic.

I always tend to witness someone having this problem. But they don’t give up. They say hello like a hundred times before finally realizing the call has dropped or that this isn’t going to work. Yesterday, I overheard a guy on the phone. It went something like this…

“Hello? Hello? Can you hear me? Hello? Can you hear me? Can you hear me? Hello? Can you hear me? Hello? Hello? Hello? Can you hear me? Can you hear me? Hello? Press the button. Press the button. Okay.”

Yeah. But imagine it with some pauses in between the hellos and can you hear me’s. And with a few more hellos and another can you hear me? I wasn’t counting how many times he asked each thing. It reminded me of those “Can you hear me now?” commercials. Except this guy was obviously not using Verizon Wireless. It also reminded me of the “Mom! Mom! Mom! Mommy! Mommy! Mommy! Momma! Momma!” thing from Family Guy where Stewie’s trying to get Lois’ attention. Because of it’s annoyingly repetitive nature.

I’m assuming he eventually got through to the guy though, because he stopped saying hello and said something about a button. Maybe the guy on the other end was an idiot and didn’t know what button adjusted the volume level on his phone and that’s why he couldn’t hear him. Who knows? But I guess it all worked out. Unless he was trying to diffuse a bomb which required the push of a button and didn’t make it cause he didn’t hear the guy tell him to push it? But the guy didn’t seem at all perturbed by the phone call so maybe not. Unless he’s just dead inside and didn’t care. But if he had to diffuse a bomb, that would probably involve cutting wires as opposed to pushing buttons right?

In any case, I’m glad he eventually got through. If he got through. I’m still not sure what happened exactly. But when you overhear those conversations, at some point you really just feel like getting up and grabbing their phone and throwing it and then yelling “No, he can’t hear you!” Because that would put an end to the ordeal and also force them to go and purchase a cell phone with better reception. So really, you’d be doing them a favour.

7 thoughts on “Can you hear me now?

  1. hahaha…hmmm…maybe some bombs have tricky button combos to disarm…maybe a bomb expert could explain lol…It might be a favor to toss their phone, but something tells me, he wouldn’t appreciate it lol…great post!!

    Like

    • Thanks! Yeah I’m sure there could be buttons. I should write a screenplay where the hero’s looking for wires to cut when really he should be looking for the secret button. Yeah, he wouldn’t have appreciated it. At least not right away. But maybe in time he would realize it was the best thing that ever happened to him? Or not.

      Like

  2. I have very often thought about the last thing you mentioned… that grabbing someone’s phone and yelling at him ‘No! He cannot hear you!!!’ , Nice Post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

