It’s all about the food

So I went to the new Richmond Night Market a few weekends ago.  You know, when it wasn’t raining excessively.  The weather wasn’t overly great, but it was a lot better than it’s been lately.  After leaving the Petite Feet Shoe Sale at the Richmond Olympic Oval in disappointment, the night market was a much better experience.

I was kind of annoyed to discover that the price of admission had gone up by 50 cents.  I mean $1.50 isn’t a lot, but they must make a bundle since crap loads of people attend every weekend, many of them going back several times.  And it’s upsetting because the other night market has always been free to get into.

But nevertheless, we went in.  I, stupidly, did not have a lot of cash with me.  I never do.  Unless I plan ahead.  But this was sort of a spontaneous outing.  But luckily I had enough to cover the cost of food.  Which is the whole reason for going really.  And luckily I had some change, so I didn’t have to break a twenty right away just to pay for admission.

I was so overwhelmed by all the food options.  I really did not know how I was going to decide.  How do people decide these things?  There are way too many choices.  I wanted to try everything.  Well, not everything.  There are certain things that aren’t necessarily that appealing to me.  But a lot of it was.

The potato on a stick things, or rotatos, as they call them, were all the rage.  The lineup for those things was massive.  I wasn’t sure if I should get one, but I do love potatoes, so I thought, why not?

And I couldn’t not have meat.  Meat on a stick to be more specific.  There were different kinds to choose from.  All I knew was that I was definitely going to get something that was wrapped in bacon.

I think the meat skewers were definitely a good choice.  I mean I know there are other things that are more out of the ordinary that I could have tried, but you can never go wrong with a cup filled with meat on stick.

The bacon wrapped sausage was really good.  It reminded me of those little cocktail weenies that come in a tin can.  But with bacon.  And everything’s better with bacon.

Apparently the rotato vendors decided to take it upon themselves to display a bunch of random things that you can do with a rotato.  I personally am perfectly fine with just eating it.

The garlic chicken skewer was good too.  It didn’t come with any bacon though.  But I guess not everything needs bacon.  But it couldn’t hurt.

The potato on a stick thing was good.  I got mine ketchup flavoured.  I thought they’d be like  chips because of the way they looked, but they’re thicker than that.

Yam fries are always good.  Pretty much any carbs are good really.  These came with honey garlic mayo.  Next time I want to try the corn dog that’s covered with them.

And I definitely have to try the XXXL Bratwurst.  16 inches with sauerkraut.  I have to.  It’s apparently unique and special so why wouldn’t I?  Or maybe I should start with the corn dog and work my way up?  You know, just in case I’m not ready to handle that much meat.

The annoying thing about the night market is that I hate crowds.  It’s one of those places where my love for food and my hatred of crowds have to face each other.  And as it should be, love overcomes hate.

They also have great desserts there.  Like ice cream churros.  Apparently these weren’t the greatest but were still okay.

They have bunch of things that are deep fried.  Like deep fried ice cream, which I will try next time.  But this time I opted for deep fried green onion pancakes.

I would have liked to try everything on that menu.  It all looked so good.

I liked their green fridge.  It seemed really retro looking.

Green onion pancakes are so crispy.  I was very happy I decided to get them.

I decided the last thing I would get was juice.  This was my effort to be healthy.

I got a giant cup of strawberry mango juice.  It was very refreshing.  I feel like this is what people have when they go one juice fasts.  Not that I ever would.  Clearly.

They also had strawberry Nutella crepes.  Which I believe were better than the churros.  But I decided to pass on those.

After the food, we eventually went over to the non-food booths.  The one non-food related thing I was looking to buy was a pair of sunglasses.  So I tried some on.  I liked these, but the little bow on the side made me feel like I was eight years old.

We made our way over to the wishing trees.  Where people seemed to be taking pictures amidst the bright lights.

And so naturally we did the same.  The night market is all about the food.  But this blog is all about me.

This is probably the closest I will come to climbing a tree.  Is that sad?  Actually wait, I’m pretty sure I actually did climb a few trees several years ago.  Not sure when or if I’ll ever be doing that again.

I actually finished my entire cup of juice.  Not that I doubted I would.  I just downed it pretty quickly.

As we continued walking, we noticed they had a booth there promoting the shoe sale.  You know, the one we had gone to earlier that day.  The one where all I bought was a pair of walking shoes.  And now they were trying to entice me to go back?  I don’t think so.

I wore my sunglasses after I purchased them.  Because I didn’t have a case with me at the time and didn’t want to wreck them right away.  Going back home, my friend asked “Are you wearing your sunglasses at night?”.  To which I replied “Yes.  Yes I am.” and then I proceeded to sing some Corey Hart.

All in all, I am very happy with my one non-food related purchase.  I sort of ran out of cash to be able to buy anything else.  I kind of want to go back to get one of those gel pack heating pad things that heat up automatically with the push of a button.  But more importantly, I want to go back to try more food.  Because that’s what it’s all about.

But I think I’ll wait until the weather’s better.  So I can wear my sunglasses again.

13 thoughts on “It’s all about the food

    • Haha don’t worry, I won’t. I keep it under control. Although now that I’ve said that, watch me get fat. But I’d much rather lose my figure than my humour if I had to make a choice.

      Like

  1. Thanks for your review.I’ve never been to the night market but now I feel I know a bit about it.When you go back to try the Bratwurst ask about the pork hock. I’d like to know more about it😊

    Like

  2. Looks like a place I’d like to stroll around in. A lot of it looks like the street food over here in Korea. The meat on a stick, “rotatoes”, and the fruit juice specifically. So good.

    Like

  3. Pingback: I went back to the night market | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

