My favourite kind of old person

Sometimes I complain about old people. When they shove me, or walk too slowly right in front of me. But I don’t generalize. They’re not all bad. Just a few that give the rest a bad name. But there are some old people who I admire.

This one time I was on the Canada Line and this old man was standing. Sometimes people who are neither old nor handicapped will sit in the priority seating seats when there are others around who need them more. That pisses me off. But the girl did offer her seat to the old man. But he turned it down and continued to stand. That’s my favourite kind of old person, one who doesn’t let age slow him down. I had to stand that day too, and I liked that we could both stand together in solidarity. If he was happy to stand without complaining, then so was I.

This morning, I had to stand again, as I often do. This time, an old woman got on at the next stop. She was also offered a seat. Actually I think someone might have told the person in the seat they should offer her their seat. The person in the priority seating area is often oblivious. But the old woman refused the seat as well and continued to stand. I like when that happens. She was also very good at standing. I mean, she was standing near me, but didn’t crowd or have an annoying habit as most people who stand near me often do. I greatly appreciated this. I also liked her shoes. They weren’t your typical old lady walking shoes. Needless to say, she’s my new idol. That’s the kind of old person that I want to be, if I ever make it to that age.

Leave a Reply

