That one good morning

So I’m constantly complaining about Translink. And rightly so. The other day two of my buses didn’t come and they assured me that the one I asked about was running on time and was right where it was supposed to be. I informed them that it never came to my stop but they just continually said there had been no reports. Then they finally said that it had been running late and had skipped my stop to compensate.

I constantly deal with these types of problems, as well as the crowds of people that surround and annoy me during my commutes. Like the throat clearer this morning who would alternate between the throat clearing and deep breathing for no apparent reason. And the even worse guy standing between us who made noises with his mouth as if he was chewing when really he wasn’t. I don’t know how to describe the sound in words, other than that it was annoying and unnecessary.

But yesterday was a good morning. A key part of it anyway. The part when I was on the 43 bus. Why? Because not only was the bus on time, but it was almost completely empty. There were maybe five other people on it. But they sat away from me. I had pretty much the whole back of the bus to myself. It was so nice and spacious. Not that I made use of the space or anything, I only took up one seat. But it was nice to be able to look up and not have to bear witness to any annoying habits that I otherwise would have.

It was odd. It was like a miracle. I began to wonder why it was so empty. I almost felt like tweeting translink to ask them why my bus was empty and what they did with the people. Were they gone for my benefit? I remember this Twilight Zone episode where for some reason this kid has power over this small town and when people think bad thoughts about him he can wish them away. At one point he complains to his dad that there aren’t any other children there for him to play with and his dad explains to him that it’s because he had wished all the other children away. He was an annoying kid. But yeah, maybe I had somehow subconsciously wished away the annoying people on the bus, before the bus even arrived at my stop. Although why I’d want to compare myself to an evil and disturbed little kid, I don’t know.

But clearly that wasn’t the case. Because I’m on the bus this morning and there are people on it. Unless they’re still gone and now I’m just hallucinating. Maybe I’m not even on a bus right now? Am I dreaming? Whatever the case, it’s not so bad. The bus isn’t completely full and the people on this bus are far less annoying than the ones on the Canada Line. If only I could have wished away some of those people. Particularly the throat clearer and the fake chewer. But alas this is real life and not the Twilight Zone. But still, a girl can dream.

5 thoughts on “That one good morning

    • Don’t worry, I would never wish you away, I’d miss your blog too much! And you’re free to take Translink if you like, I’m sure wouldn’t be annoying like my fellow riders usually are.

      Like

Leave a Reply

