Blogging on my birthday

This is probably the saddest blog post ever written. I mean who blogs on their birthday? I should be celebrating instead. Well in my defense, I’m on a bus right now and there’s not much I can do to celebrate at the moment. I mean I suppose I could have worn a party hat or a birthday tiara and a sash or something and then told random people around me that it was my birthday. And then have a birthday cake in my lap, complete with candles. And maybe a balloon. And request that they all sing for me? But alas, I’ve missed my chance. But this does sound like a good plan for next year… Because then I’ll be a quarter of a century and that seems like the appropriate way to deal with a mid-mid-life crisis.

I suppose I shouldn’t even be on a bus on my birthday. I should have someone to drive me around instead. There’s often this sense of entitlement that people have on their birthday. There are some that go all out and want it to be the best day ever and then there are others that prefer to treat it like any other day. Because why is it such a big deal that you were born? That was completely out of your control. Everyone around you was born too. It’s really not a major accomplishment.

But birthdays are still special, even for those who choose to ignore them. If you want them to be. It’s not just a celebration of the day you were born, it’s a celebration of you and of your life. But the sense of entitlement isn’t necessary. This is the first year that I’ve worked on my birthday. Because the past few years, it has fallen on the long weekend or I’ve requested it off. And before that I was unemployed. But I don’t mind anymore. A summer birthday is nice because I never had to go to school on my birthday like so many other people. But at the same time, the day was always depressing, because it meant that summer vacation was already half over.

I wasn’t going to blog today but a few people actually asked if I was writing a birthday blog post. Granted, they were probably joking. But I figured I may as well. I’m actually behind on my blogging at the moment. There are posts I would like to write but I haven’t had the time. So stay tuned for posts better than this one about night markets, dancing, and of course, birthdays. Because there’s only so much I can say in a blog post while commuting. But I liked the alliteration of “blogging on my birthday” and decided that a random post just had to be written. I apologize if it is lacking. But hey, it’s my birthday, so even if you don’t like this post, I’m entitled to your praise and acceptance.

15 thoughts on “Blogging on my birthday

  1. Happy Birthday. I hope you at least got off the bus for a free birthday drink or icecream cone or something. You can always get something free on your birthday.

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday. I think bus rides are nice and I like to be left alone for my birthday so that I have some time to think. 🙂 I am tuned in for your posts. Nice post.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Free birthday stuff | Random and unnewsworthy

  4. Pingback: Free birthday drink from Blenz | Random and unnewsworthy

  5. Pingback: Free birthday meal at Pajo’s | Random and unnewsworthy

  6. Pingback: Free birthday burger at Red Robin | Random and unnewsworthy

  7. Pingback: Free birthday pasta at Boston Pizza | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

