I went back to the night market

You may recall a while ago I wrote a post about going to the Richmond Night Market.  Well you knew I couldn’t stay away for too long and that I’d be back sooner than later.  This time, it wasn’t just about the food.  I went earlier and spent more time in the non food area as well before indulging in the goodness prepared by the food vendors.

They spelled stationary wrong at this booth.  Stationary with an a refers to something standing still, like a stationary bike.  Stationery with an e is what they really meant, as it refers to various writing supplies and whatnot.

I seem to have this newfound obsession with sunglasses.  Night market sunglasses mostly.  I like this style but I wasn’t sure if I could pull off wearing them because of how red they were.

I can, however, pull these ones off, right?  I don’t really understand them but at the same time I kind of do.  They’re kind of like those shutter sunglasses but better.  I would have bought them except for the fact that I couldn’t exactly see properly while wearing them.  That and the fact that they do nothing whatsoever to protect my eyes from the sun.

I didn’t buy these either but I do like them.  They kind of have a unique shape.  Maybe I’ll buy them next time I go?  Or maybe they’re too big?

I’m very indecisive, especially with sunglasses, as I find it extremely difficult to find a pair that do me justice.

They had lots of booths selling clothes.  I like how the sign said “Feminine”.  You know, as opposed to all the masculine dresses and skirts they had?

I had a mishap with my phone while trying to take a picture and ended up with this randomness.  But my left shoe managed to make its way into the shot.  It’s such a camera whore.

It’s really smart that they were selling $2 flip flops, as you do a lot of walking at the Night Market.  I’m pretty sure some people mistakenly wear uncomfortable shoes and later regret their footwear decision.

They have a lot of stationery booths.  I like how this one sold fans.

We couldn’t stay away from the food for too long.  Walking around works up an appetite.

Again, I was overwhelmed by the abundance of options.

But this time I had a better idea of what I wanted.

I obviously had to get a Japanese corn dog.  I mean come one, would wouldn’t want something that was coated with fries?

Rice burgers are really good too.

I don’t know why, but I always get excited when the bun isn’t actually a bun.

I was slightly disappointed by the false advertising, as I realized that the corn dogs were coated in hash browns, not fries.  But I like hash browns too, so it was okay.  But someone should really let them know that there’s a difference.

I watched as they had the rice buns on the grill.

Rice burgers are probably a lot healthier than regular burgers.

When I got my corn dog, my name was spelled wrong.

Dominic is the guy version of my name.

But all in all, the corn dog was pretty satisfying.

I was so disappointed that the mini-chicken teriyaki burgers sold out.  I mean they have yam fries in them.  That sounds so good!  I am definitely getting one next time.  This booth will have to be my first stop.

Apparently Cookie Monster’s version of YOLO is “You obviously love oreos”.  I kind of liked that.

There’s still so much more food I want to try.

Bubble waffles sound really good.

These things were so unbelievable good.

I decided on the strawberry mango icy.  A lot of fruit, a lot of slushy, and vanilla ice cream on top.  It was amazing.  You don’t need to buy a drink if you get this because the slushy part is pretty much a drink in itself.  Perfect for a hot day.

And the ice cream doesn’t melt because it’s sitting on top of the slushy.  So naturally I saved some ice cream for the very end.  Because I could.

I was very confused by the drink specials at this place.  Whatever doesn’t really mean whatever?  Well what does it mean then?  What’s in the drink?  That tells me nothing about it whatsoever.

Loving someone who used to love you?  What the hell is that supposed to taste like?  And is it a good taste?  It sounds like it might not be.

Why would you want bitter bubble tea?  And I guess you have to wait longer for the patience one?  But what does it taste like?

What does the blueness of the sky taste like?  Or the 6th night?  What does that even mean?  I guess these drinks are appealing for people who are adventurous and like to be surprised.

I’m really glad they had indoor plumbing.  I was expecting porta potties or something, which would have been highly unpleasant.  Thank God for these bathrooms.  Although the floors were dirty.  But there were running toilets, so I can’t complain.

They had a booth with leggings and fishnet stockings.  I obviously had to buy a pair.  While we were debating, they gave us a deal so we could buy three pairs and each get one, for cheaper than if we bought them separately.  Sometimes it pays to be indecisive.

I found a booth that had a whole wall of nickel free earrings.  I’m allergic to a lot of jewellery and I love earrings, so it’s like this booth was made for me.

There were necklaces too but only some of them were nickel free.  But there were quite a few nice ones that were.

I think there should be more places like this one so that I don’t feel left out when it comes to jewellery.  It’s always nice having options.

I bought a chain with a pendant and matching earrings.  I had to go with purple since it would match a lot of my outfits.

There was some sort of dancing happening on the stage for entertainment.

These back supports things that you put on chairs are supposed to make you sit up straighter or something.  They’re pretty comfortable but didn’t seem like an essential thing to buy.

I took home the bowl from the icy because I could.  My mom asked why and told me to throw it away.  But I refused because it’s good enough to reuse.  Although I’m not sure where it is at this point.

My first non food related purchase was sunglasses again.  This time they were $4.  I remember Sunglasses At Night was playing when I entered the night market.  Which of course was very fitting, seeing as I was in fact wearing them.

I love my silver chain and purple flower pendant.  It’s probably my favourite night market purchase so far.

I thought I’d buy some earrings that were sort of flashy and sort of classy at the same time.

And of course a pair of purple earrings to match my necklace.

And I’m excited to wear my fishnets as well, though I’ve yet to open up the package.  I’m hoping I can find a special occasion where I can wear my fishnets with my jewellery and my sunglasses.  Or maybe I’ll just wear them all next time I go to the night market.

7 thoughts on “I went back to the night market

  1. Pingback: Dancing in the street | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

