Happy 25th Anniversary Mom & Dad!

Today is my parents’ 25th Anniversary. I don’t have anything particular to say about it on here, but I figured I should dedicate a post to them, even if they won’t read it or know it exists. They do know I have a blog. My mom’s never read it because she doesn’t spend much time on the computer. She describes herself as computer illiterate. Which is a shame since she really ought to have her own blog because she’s really good at writing. Maybe one day I can convince her to start one.

My dad has read my blog before, but as far as I know, he’s only read posts from last year. One time this year he asked me if I was still blogging. I’m not sure if he’s read any of my newer posts or not. He probably doesn’t have time. But he has read some of my tweets and Facebook statuses from time to time. And while I never post anything bad, I still won’t add him as a friend, because I don’t want his entire news feed to be filled with all the dumb stuff that I have to say. It’s far better that I spare him from that.

Even if they never read this, I want to take this opportunity to congratulate them on 25 years of marriage and thank them for all that they’ve done for me. I’m really lucky to have such great parents. 25 years is a long time. Especially considering they’ve had to put up with me for 24 of those years. Can you imagine? Not to mention the years spent with my siblings as well. All four of them. Being married for 25 years and raising five kids. I do think that deserves some sort of acknowledgement and praise.

In the past, I’ve never bothered about their anniversary, or even known when the date was. Because I’ve always thought that anniversaries should be about the two people who are celebrating it. Why should other people be involved or care? That being said, if my parents hadn’t decided to get married and have kids, I wouldn’t be here. What a gift to the world that was, right? So really, you should all be thanking them, because if not for them, there would be no me. And without me, there’d be no blog. And if that were the case, then what would you be reading right now?

5 thoughts on “Happy 25th Anniversary Mom & Dad!

  1. Pingback: My parents are following me on Facebook | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

