Blogging in the summer

It’s hard. I don’t know why. It shouldn’t require any more effort than blogging throughout the rest of the year. But it feels like it does. Which is unfortunate because there are so many blog worthy things to write about in the summer if we only had the time. I don’t think it’s just me who feels this way. There are blogs that I follow that have also been lacking in their amount of posts lately. It’s good to know I’m not alone.

It’s annoying because I’ll have all these great ideas and then by the time I go to write about them, too much time has passed and they may no longer be relevant. Not that they’re relevant to begin with. Even more irrelevant than they once were I guess? And so I wonder whether or not I should even bother posting them. And then even more time passes. And then I have a better blog post idea but I don’t want to post that one until I post about the thing that happened before that because I need to have some sense of order. And why not chronological? And then everything’s backed up. What’s a blogger to do?

There’s a reason there’s no school in the summer. I mean unless you failed something and have to take summer school. That’s just unfortunate. Or if you decide to take a course in the summer to lighten your load in the fall. Also unfortunate. But it’s just really hard to focus. More so than during the other seasons. Plus it’s hot. Okay maybe not always and maybe not overly. But a lot of the time it is. And then to have more heat emanating from your computer screen while you try to put together coherent thoughts, that’s just not ideal.

One thing that’s helped me keep up with my blogging is my phone and the ability to blog from it. But it’s not the same. Posts from my phone are sometimes lacking. In pictures, in quality, in depth. But sometimes it’s the only way. I think it’ll probably be another week until I write another blog post. Or maybe a week and a day? I know that probably doesn’t seem long but for me it is. There are still things that happened last month or even two months ago that I haven’t got around to writing about. There’s also stuff from years ago, but in my defense, I didn’t have a blog back then.

Perhaps in the fall, I shall resume a more frequent blogging schedule. Or perhaps not. No one knows really. I just know that right now, it’s not happening. And why should it? People are on vacation, going places, doing things, and then feeling exhausted after having done them. Who even has time to read a blog post, let alone write one? In that sense, my lack of frequent posts is probably in the best interest of my readers. You deserve a break. It’s nice to get a break from me every so often. Not that I would know. I’m with myself 24/7. Consider yourselves lucky.

11 thoughts on “Blogging in the summer

  1. I find it easier actually. It´s too hot here in Madrid to go outside during the day, so I feel like I should do something constructive. I´ve got a weekly blog, so once a week is not so much. Having the deadline kind of works. Having said that, I didn´t blog for about 10 or 11 days recently. 🙂

    Like

    • Haha oh nice. I try to give myself a sort of deadline or schedule in my head but my expectations for myself are too high and I can never live up to them. Madrid sounds nice, I wish I were there.

      Like

      • Cool. I´m not good with deadlines, but having the song of the week thing is kind of like a deadline. Feel like I´m not living up to it if I miss one. Yep, Madrid is great, but hot. It´s cooled down a good bit in the last week, not unbearable heat any more. Just about the right temperature now.

        Like

  2. I know how you feel, I’ve started a few posts over the past few weeks that I haven’t bothered to finish because I just can’t be bothered to put the effort in and then eventually they seem like pointless posts. Where do they keep the motivation pills?

    Like

    • Ugh I know right. I have a post I’ve been trying to write for like two months and got bored with and now I don’t know if I’ll post it or not but then if I don’t it’s seems like a waste. If you even find the pills, let me know.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Hello, my name is Dominique and it’s been 9 days since my last blog post | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

