Happy blogoversary to me!

Apparently, one year ago today, I started this blog.  And surprisingly, I’ve stuck with it.  I guess that’s worth some sort of recognition?  Usually I have trouble committing to things for that long.  But the blog and I are very happy together.  Well, maybe not happy.  I mean some of my latest posts have been rather angry and irritable.  But we’re comfortable and alright with the way things are going.  Perhaps in a bit of a slump at the moment, but come on, it’s been a whole year already, what do you expect?

I actually thought I’d missed my blogoversary.  Is that a word?  Is that what people call it?  I wouldn’t know, having never had one before.  Until now.  I’m not very good with dates.  For some reason, I thought I’d written my first blog post in August of last year.  But I checked today, and lo and behold, it was September 5th.  I just remember it being right before the back to school period, because my second and third blog posts were about the back to school period.

The first blog post I ever wrote was about doing the Grouse Grind.  Part of the reason I finally motivated myself to begin the blog was because I wanted to write about my experience.  Sadly, I have not done the grind again since then.  Yet.  I was supposed to do it this summer.  But there’s still time.  Summer’s not over yet.  I’m wearing shorts right now, so it must still be summer.  Although I’m aware that some girls wear shorts during the winter.  And to make matters worse, they wear them with ugg boots.  I’m sorry but I refuse to accept that fashion combination.

Since that date a year ago, I’ve written 151 blog posts.  That’s pretty good, right?  There were a few gaps here and there when I didn’t blog much, but for the most part I’ve kept it going.  And people are still reading it, or so my stats page tells me.  Also people tell me as well.  I think the majority of my readers might be people I’ve never met, but sometimes I’ll run into people I do know and they’ll actually mention my blog.  And I’ll be like “Oh, you read it?”  Because I know it gets views, I just don’t know who is actually doing the viewing.  Unless you like a post or leave a comment.  For all I know, it could be one person viewing it hundreds of times.  I hope that’s not the case.  For my sake and theirs.

When I first started blogging, I didn’t really know about tags and categories and links and pictures.  And then I learned.  And then I got lazy and didn’t really use many pictures or links anymore.  I feel like I’ve really been lacking in pictures lately.  And so in the spirit of celebrating my blogoversary, I will now leave you with a few pictures.  And in keeping with the random part of my blog title, “Random and unnewsworthy“, they will be random pictures.  Although perhaps not so random.  Because each of them sort of embodies to some degree, what this blog is all about.

grouse grind

The halfway mark on the Grouse Grind

drinks

Drinks

ubc fences

The fences at UBC

potato chips

Potato Chips

people

People

transit

Public transit delays

shoes

Shoes

family

My family

Food

Food

me

Me

blog

My blog

Thanks for reading and sticking with me for this long!  The blog and I appreciate it!

6 thoughts on “Happy blogoversary to me!

    • Thanks! Not random and actually newsworthy? I think you’ve uncovered the secret irony of this blog. Well done! And yes, hopefully I’ll still be around here to celebrate yet another blogoversary next year!

      Like

Leave a Reply

