Free birthday slurpee at 7-Eleven

After having dinner at Pajo’s, I needed to make a stop at 7-Eleven to buy a bus pass for the month of August.  It’s kind of depressing having to spend $110 on your birthday, but that’s what happens when it’s on the very last day of the month.

I went in and asked the clerk for a two zone monthly bus pass for August.  He then informed me that they had sold out for the day.  I was confused.  How do they sell out of August bus passes before August even arrives?  Then he said they had some in a locked box that only the manager could open and that the manager wasn’t there.  He told me they would be available if I came back the following morning.  Except the following morning, it would be August, hence I would require the use of the bus pass to get there.  Fail.

Before I left, I told him that I’d read online that you get a free slurpee on the day of your birthday.  He thought I was talking about the free slurpee day on July 11th and said that it had already happened.  So I clarified and he said “Oh, it’s your birthday?”  I’m not sure if he completely understood me, but he said I could go get a slurpee.  Which I did.  I asked if he wanted to see ID but he said it was fine.  So I got a free white out monutain dew slurpee.

I’m not sure if I was supposed to get it or not, or if he just let me take it because of the lack of bus passes along with the lack of understanding me.  But I have read online that free birthday slurpees really are a thing.  I guess it just helps if they disappoint you in some way by not having the thing you originally came in for.  I didn’t really even want it that much, so I just had a bit and gave the rest to my brother.  Because I’m a nice person.

As for the bus pass, I went to a different 7-Eleven a couple blocks away, where they still had them in stock.  I probably could have tried to get another free slurpee from this location as well, but I didn’t want to be greedy.  One free birthday slurpee is plenty enough.

2 thoughts on “Free birthday slurpee at 7-Eleven

  1. Armed with your free birthday info (is there a free breakfast somewhere? Pancakes?) a person could get an early start…. say 7:00 am and not go to work that day. Just go from freebie to freebie and at the end of the day gain a free pound! With free lipstick from Sephora, who’ll notice? You are one heck of a wonderful nut!

    Like

    • Omg I know! That totally could have been me had I not had to work that day. You can get a free breakfast at Denny’s AND IHOP. Unfortunately I worked to early to have time for breakfast in the morning, and thus missed out on Denny’s. But I think I did really well with spreading out all the deals and making them last. And thanks, maybe I’ll add “wonderful nut” to my profile.

      Like

Leave a Reply

