Happy Birthday Mom!

It’s my mom’s birthday today.  So I thought I should acknowledge that in a blog post.  I know she won’t read it since she hardly ever uses the computer, but that doesn’t matter.  It’ll be like acknowledging her birthday in secret.  Except not because a bunch of other people will read it.  But whatever.  I’ve started the post already so it’s going to exist.

I would like to say that my mom is my role model.  But I don’t want five kids.  Yeah, she had five.  I’m the oldest.  And that’s pretty much what put me off of having any.  I remember her saying she had me first so I could be a built in babysitter.  How nice of her.

So the desire to have many children is not something that I share with my mother.  But we do share other things.  I think I got my love for writing from her.  I don’t think I’m as good a writer as she is.  But I’m obnoxious enough to write publicly as opposed to privately.  She’s written several things that she hasn’t done anything with.  She told me that in her will she would leave me all her writings for me to do something with.  What the hell she expects me to do with them, I have no idea.  But maybe I could always start a new blog called “Stuff my mom wrote”.  It would probably be a whole lot more interesting than this one.

mom

My mom and I a couple years ago in front of a bear statue. One of my dad’s old classmates had this art exhibit out in Langley so we attended. I’m not really into art. But there was free wine and cheese, which my mom and I both appreciated.  We both love purple as well, probably because we look so good in it.

Happy birthday mom!  Thanks for all your love and support and words of wisdom!

8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Mom!

  1. Pingback: Ethnic Sex and the City | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: My parents are following me on Facebook | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

