I need something from you

When I came home last night, I walked past my brother’s bedroom and we had this conversation:

Brother: Dominique.

Me: What?

Brother: Come here.

Me: Why?

Brother: I need something from you.

Me: What?

Brother: Words of encouragement.

Me: For what?

Brother: Cross country. The race is tomorrow.

Usually when someone needs something from me it’s money or help with homework or something. That may have been the first time someone’s asked me for “words of encouragement”. So I wished him good luck. That sucks that they had to run in the rain. But good for him. The only time I run willingly in the rain is to catch a bus. And I remember struggling through the 100 metre race at our mandatory track meets. No way in hell would I join cross country. And there’s my brother, willingly running long distances. Apparently they had to do laps around Garry Point Park. I wonder how he did.

4 thoughts on “I need something from you

Leave a Reply

