My grandma’s attempt at being a wingwoman

I was at a trivia night fundraiser a couple weeks ago and my cousin noticed that we were next to a table that was filled with young guys.  I turned to her and said “It’s a good thing grandma’s not here, or she’d be trying to set you up with one of them right now.”  My grandma does stuff like that sometimes.  Like she’ll tell waiters about how she has granddaughters.  I’m not around as much, so it’s mostly my cousin who has to deal with it.

The other night, I was having dinner at Taki’s on Davie street for my cousin’s birthday.  My grandma was there and at one point she pointed over to another table and said to me and my cousin, “Look, there’s two hunks over there for you.”  We looked over.  And then my uncle turned to her and said, “Yeah, they’re gay…”.  And my grandma questioned as to how we knew that and how was she supposed to know?  And then we pointed out that they were having dinner together on a Saturday night by candlelight on Davie street.  They held hands as they left together.  They were hot and they made a really cute couple.  My grandma then asked that if she had dinner with one of her girlfriends, would they be considered lesbians?  We told her no.

The following week, my grandma and my uncle were having dinner and she pointed out a guy who she thought would be “a nice young man” for my cousin.  Apparently he too, was gay.  My friend pointed out that at least she has good taste, since gay guys are usually the best looking and the best dressed.  I love my grandma.  She’s not the greatest wingwoman, but she really tries.

tournament of kings

I don’t have a good picture of us from my cousin’s birthday, so here’s a picture of me with my grandma & my cousin at the Tournament of Kings show at The Excalibur in Vegas.

6 thoughts on “My grandma’s attempt at being a wingwoman

  1. Pingback: Happy 80th Birthday Grandma! | Random and unnewsworthy

  2. Pingback: What happens in Vegas ends up in a blog post | Random and unnewsworthy

  3. Pingback: I saw male strippers with my grandma | Random and unnewsworthy

  4. Pingback: My parents are following me on Facebook | Random and unnewsworthy

Leave a Reply

