Who’s Asian Jim?

A couple weeks ago, I went to see Cloud Atlas with my friend.  We saw the late show and it was really long and I was really tired. But it was good.  I loved the makeup and thought it was all done really well.  In the elevator scene, I found myself attracted to the old guy and wondered why, and then I realized that it was James D’Arcy playing him and it all made sense.  I wouldn’t mind being trapped in an elevator with old James D’Arcy.

old James D'Arcy

He’s so sexy as an old man.

Another impressive part was Jim Sturgess as an Asian guy.  Somehow, he looks even hotter when he’s Asian.  I think it’s the look combined with the character and fight scenes that makes him so great.  Just everything about him really.  After the movie, we reflected on how he was hottest when he was the Asian character.

Asian Jim Sturgess

Yeah. How can you not find that attractive?

My friend sent me a text message the following day about Cloud Atlas and about Asian Jim Sturgess.  My brother happened to glance at my phone as I was texting and asked me “Who’s Asian Jim?”.  I told him it was from a movie and he was like “The character’s name is Asian Jim?”.  I tried to explain it to him but he’s 11 and Cloud Atlas is way too complicated even for some adults.

So I tried explaining how the actor plays an Asian guy but I couldn’t really explain myself.  So every so often, my siblings will randomly ask me “Who’s Asian Jim?” and make fun of me.  So now I’m pretty sure they just think that I’m dating some Asian guy named Jim.  How fun for me…

Leave a Reply

