Forty-eighth day of work selfie

So I finally shaved my legs.  After, well, let’s just say a while.  I went out for a friend’s birthday on Saturday and the weather was nice over the weekend, so I figured it was finally time.  It’s always such an ordeal.  I got this Remington electric razor from Walmart because I go through so many disposable ones and always manage to cut myself.  Unfortunately it turned out not to be that great.  I feel like maybe I should’ve gotten waxed instead because I waited so long but oh well.  Throughout my teen years, I tried literally every hair removal product you can imagine, and it turns out I’m allergic to all of them.  Nair, Neet, Veet, you name it.  My skin has such a bad reaction that it ends up looking worse than if I’d just left the hair on it.  I’ve considered laser hair removal, but it’s crazy expensive, and I’ve also been told that it can cause discolouration because my skin is darker.  As for waxing, for the amount of wax that I would need for my legs, it’s just not cost effective.  So yeah.  Razors.

Of course, it turns out, now that my legs were finally hair-free (or somewhat, I missed a few spots, and it’s growing back already), the weather would be cold and rainy.  But that won’t stop me from wearing dressing and exposing my legs because I can.  When I went to work on Monday, my dad was like “Isn’t it too cold for your outfit?” but I didn’t care.  I got this dress at Ross Dress for Less in the States and this red sweater from Sears at Richmond Centre before it closed down.  My necklace and ring are from UBC, my earrings are from Claire’s, and my bracelet is from Dollarama.  I also painted my nails (badly) on the weekend, but alas, they are already chipping.  I also straightened my hair on the weekend for the first time in a while.  I used that as my excuse for not going to yoga on Sunday, because I didn’t want to have to wash my hair after and ruin the straightness.  Even though it’s no longer as straight now as it was on Saturday, it’s still better than the natural frizz that’s usually present.

2 thoughts on “Forty-eighth day of work selfie

Leave a Reply

